November Book Haul

Hey guys!

This post was long overdue. November was an insane month for books. So many discounts, promotions and flea markets… I lost control of myself. Here are my purchases for this month.

IMG_1904

  • Middlesex, by Jeffrey Eugenides

IMG_1905 IMG_1906

Find any edition at Book Depository

This is the Pulitzer Prize winner book from the author of The Virgin Suicides. I read only this two sentences and they got me so curious. Here they are: ‘I was born twice: first, as a baby girl, on a remarkably smogless Detroit day of January 1960; and then again, as a teenage boy, in an emergency room near Petoskey, Michigan, in August of l974.’ .

IMG_1919 IMG_1915Find any edition at Book Depository

I already read this one and I can’t wait to find time to write about it because urgh, so many things to discuss. This book is one of the most popular from last year and this one, with a recent movie adaptation. Amy Elliott Dunne disappears on her fifth wedding anniversary and of course that her husband, Nick Dunne is the primary suspect. A modern thriller.

  • In Cold Blood (pt. A Sangue Frio), by Truman Capote

IMG_1923 IMG_1924Find any edition at BookDepository

Oh what a classic! I read a bit from this one a long time ago in a coffee house and I was surprised, never ever I had read anything like it. This is the first non-fiction novel ever, as the own author claims. Capote, the person with the weirds voice ever, reconstructs the murder of family in Kansas, by a series of interviews to the criminals and research. A perfect marriage between journalism and literature.

  • Lolita, by Vladimir Nobokov

IMG_1921 IMG_1922Find any edition at Book Depository

YAY! I have finally a copy of this one. It took me a while but here it is. One of the most amazing books ever. It tells the story of a man called Humbert Humbert, who has a strange obsession for these young girls he calls nymphets.

  • The Unbearable Lightness Of Being (pt. A Insustentável Leveza do Ser), by Milan Kundera

IMG_1929 IMG_1931Find any edition at Book Depository

I talked about this book in my previous post, The Reading Diversely Tag. It seems to be a very philosophical book, which is quite different to me. Hoping to get around it soon enough.

  • The Call Of Cthulhu And Other Stories, by H. P. Lovecraft

IMG_1925 IMG_1927Find any edition at Book Depository

I got this one at a Flea Market. It was in such good shape, and I thought it would be a good start in another master of  america horror. This book contains lots of stories from the author.

I’m going to be a bit more MIA in the next few weeks since it’s almost the end of the semester. Please pray for me since work is really so much and I don’t know how to deal with it. I promise I will fill you guys with posts and new books and reviews as soon as I can.

Bye guys!

Cat.

4 thoughts on “November Book Haul

  1. Interesting.
    That’s an awesome book haul with really great books.
    The Unbearable Lightness of Being is one of those books that have shaped my outlook on life.It is unforgettable.
    I’ve been meaning to read Lolita for quite a while now.Maybe this year I’ll give it a go.
    As for Middlesex,I don’t will read it even if I know it must be great given that it won the Pulitzer Prize.
    Finally,I’ve just bought In Cold Blood.Some say they don’t understand why it is so popular,while others praised it enormously.I wonder if I did right in buying it….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment