Favourite Books #1- The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky

One thing that you must know about me is that I don’t like just one thing. Or five. Or even ten. Especially when it comes to books (or movies) I get real indecisive. I just can’t pick some of my favourites. The list goes on and on forever.

So, I’ve decided to make a series of posts with all my favourite books. They are in no particular order: that’s almost as hard as choosing what books to put in this list.

For my very first post of this list, here’s one of them: The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky.

Warning: This book contains explicit sex scenes and drug use.

IMG_0219

IMG_0224

This book is an epistolary novel about a boy named Charlie. We are guided through the coming-of-age experience of this boy, while he shares his emotions, day-to-day experiences or just little thoughts.

I know that now this book is a pop-culture phenomenon but when I got it and read it for the first time (this is actually the book I re-read more times) it was just a collection of left over Tumblr inspirational quotes. I love how people don’t forget such a book. After a couple of months of my purchase, the movie came out and this book exploded again.

This is why this is one of my favourite book: I can absolutely relate to everything that’s told. I consider myself a wallflower too. I’ve always been the quiet kid. And I don’t consider a lot of people my friends. The one’s that have that statute really earned it and took a lot of time to enter my life. I lost a lot of “friends” through my life but eventually I found a couple that stoke. And that’s what happens to Charlie too. One other thing that I also can relate to are his struggles with mental issues. Oh, and he’s a book worm too!

All the characters in this book are genuine: they have real feelings and issues. They all relate to each other in their own way. None of the plot or the relations feel forced or too “booky” to be real.

In summary, this is a great book to help you understand what you are going through. And most of all, it let’s you know one of the most important things: YOU ARE NOT ALONE. No matter how bad you think you are, you are never alone. And that, to me, is the most important thing of them all.

One of my favourite quotes from the book:

Because I know there are people who say all these things don’t happen. And there are people who forget what it’s like to be sixteen when they turn seventeen. I know these will all be stories some day, and our pictures will become old photographs. We all become somebody’s mom or dad. But right now, these moments are not stories. This is happening. I am here, and I am looking at her. And she is so beautiful. I can see it. This one moment when you know you’re not a sad story. You are alive. And you stand up and see the lights on the buildings and everything that makes you wonder. And you’re listening to that song, and that drive with the people who you love most in this world. And in this moment, I swear, we are infinite.

As always thank you for reading,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

