July Book Haul

First of all, I want to say thank you for reading my last post.

Secondly, I have to confess that when I buy books, I don’t always know a lot about them. I almost always only know the name of it and the author. So, I apologize in advance if I say something about a book that’s not totally accurate. I get all my information from the back of the books, from the internet or from my personal knowledge. I also have a particular love for classics, you will notice this through all my posts.

Today’s post is dedicated to all the books I’ve bought in the month of July. I have a terrible sense of time so I’m not totally sure all the book in the post were actually purchased on July (maybe they were on the end of June, I don’t know really). I didn’t pay the retail price for any of these! Some where brought at the Espinho Book Fair, on local stores and on Bookdepository.

IMG_0286

Anyway, here they are!

  • All The Names (pt. Todos os Nomes), José Saramago

IMG_0250IMG_0278

This book is about a man, Senhor José, that works on the Central Registry of Births, Marriages and Deaths. One day, he comes across a registry of “an unknown woman” and instantly becomes obsessed with finding her.

José Saramago is the only portuguese Literature Nobel Prize and one of my favourite authors ever. I don’t know much about this book but I’ve read 7 books by this author and I loved them all. I hope this one is another great book, written by one of the most amazing portuguese personalities.

  • Mrs. Dalloway, Virginia Woolf

IMG_0266IMG_0269

I’m very curious about this book. I know a lot about Virginia Woolf, mostly because of her mental problems, but I actually never read none of her writing. I don’t know much about this book, or any of her work. This is going to be a total surprise, which makes me appreciate a book even more.

The book focus on Clarissa Dalloway and her flashbacks, where we understand her feelings and personality. All because of a party where she sees people she knows or used to. I’m pretty excited for this one.

IMG_0281IMG_0282 I read Great Expectations a while back and even tho it was one of my hardest reading experiences (I was not familiar with the type of english that it was written on) I completely loved it. Charles Dickens is one of the most iconic writers of all time and that alone brings me in. Any author that can win a battle against time can’t be anything but awesome.

A Christmas Carol is a tradicional holiday story about a very rich man named Scrooge that, on Christmas Eve, is visited by three ghosts: past, present, yet to come (or future). This is a story, essentially about capitalism and how money changes someone. It is supposed to teach you a very important lesson about all the problems that come with it. People change and become so attached to it, they loose all track of reality and of what really matters.

This is a really short book, I will probably read it pretty soon and who knows, maybe even write a review. Plus, it was only 1€!!

  • The Scarlet Letter, by Nathaniel Hawthorne

IMG_0271IMG_0262This book tells the story of Hester Prynne, who is accused of adultery and it’s forced to use a scarlet “A” on the front of her gown. When her long-lost husband returns (he was thought lost at sea), he begins on a vengeful journey to destroy his wife’s lover. It’s a story about shame, lust and puritanism.

I’m a feminist and all I know is that this is the book that basically started slutshaming. I know times were different but I’m very curious to know how they treated the women, especially on the cases of adultery. It’s going to be a bit though to read because I’ll probably be angry about how closed people’s mind were (and still are). The book cover is absolutely stunning. I love old illustrations.

  • Lost At Sea, Bryan Lee O’Malley

IMG_0235IMG_0239 I finally got this book! Bryan Lee O’Malley is a Canadian artist and graphic novel writer. You might know his most famous series, “Scott Pilgrim vs. The World”, that was also adapted into one of the most brilliant movies ever (I’ll talk more about this on another post). O’Malley is one of my favourite writers of all time. The way the man can express deep feelings and yet be so comical and nerdy totally blows my mind. Plus, his artwork is amazing. I’ve only have his latest book, “Seconds”, that came out a few weeks ago, to read. The rest that I’ve read from him are actually on my tops. This book is one of them.

This is a graphic novel about a girl, Raleigh, that got her soul stolen by a cat. Sounds a bit strange, I know. But, as it says on the back of the book, if you are confused or lost, you should read this book. On a roadtrip, we go through all the memories and feelings of Raleigh and we see how she gets over them. The drawings are beautiful, I mean, just look at the cover! It’s gorgeous! I’ve already read it once but I can’t wait to actually read a physical copy.

And this concludes my July Book Haul! I ordered other books this month but they have yet to arrive so I’ll talk about them on the August Book Haul. I hope you enjoyed this blog, I plan on doing these every month.

As always, thanks for reading.

Cat

One thought on “July Book Haul

  1. Very nice new finds! I don’t usually know much about the ones I’m buying. I love going to the thrift store or the library sale and just browsing and picking up ones where I like the title/cover or have seen the author before. Can make for some entertaining reads now and again 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

