Book-to-Movie Adaptations! – Good Edition #1

Hey guys!

I’m not only obsessed with books: I’m pretty sure I’m almost as crazy for movies too! So, I decided to merge my two favourite things in the universe and start a new series of posts: book-to-movie adaptations! There will be two parts of this. One is dedicated to good movie adaptations and another to bad. I’ll start with some of the great movie adaptations of amazing books.

So, let’s start!

  • The Scott Pilgrim series, by Bryan Lee O’Malley

IMG_0290 Scott-Pilgrim-vs.-the-World-Poster

Movie poster credits to Universal Pictures.

“Scott Pilgrim” is a graphic novel series consisted in six books. We follow the story of a young adult boy called Scott Pilgrim. He falls in love with a girl called Ramona Flowers but, in order to date her, he has to defeat her seven evil exes (notice that I said exes and not ex-boyfriends *wink*). It’s a series full of action scenes, love and nerdy references.

As I said in my previous post, I absolutely love Bryan Lee O’Malley. But I didn’t know his work before I saw the movie adaptation of all the series. The movie was recommended to me by my boyfriend at the time. After a quick research, I KNEW I had to watch it. It’s full of video-game like imagery, nerdy references and amazing humour. The movie was directed by Edgar Wright, who is now one of my all time favourite directors, and it counted with my top man crush, Michael Cera. The adaptation is so faithful to the graphic novels! It captures the comic book look with some “BAAANG!”s and “POWWW”s. It also gives a lot of time to the secondary characters. I almost don’t consider these characters as secondary since they are so important and present in the story. The only thing that’s not exactly the same as the books is the ending and this only happened because book six was still being written at the time of the pre-production of the movie.

I totally recommend both these works if you’re into nerdy stuff!

  • The Virgin Suicides, by Jeffrey Eugenides

10956

I don’t have a copy of this book yet. Book cover credits to Bloomsbury Publishing PLC.
virgin_suicides_ver2_xlg

Movie poster credits to American Zoetrope.

In both movie and book, we go through the life of the Lisbon family after the youngest daughter, Cecilia, tries to commit suicide. The story is narrated by a group of boys who were obsessed with the sisters. This gives us a totally different perspective of all the events. It’s a very sad book/movie but it’s the kind of sad that’s beautiful. Especially the book. The author has a way with words! It’s unbelievable.

When I saw this movie, directed by Sofia Coppola, I was completely fascinated by the aesthetics of it. I know that the glamorisation of death isn’t something that should be advertised in movies, book or even any time of media but when you see this movie, that’s not the only thing you see. The soundtrack is beautiful also, in total harmony with the whole vibe of the film. One thing that I really appreciated in the movie was that some parts were copied from the book, almost word by word. Makes me realize how much love the director had for the book.

If you’re in the mood for a realistic yet sad book, you’ll love this one.

  • To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee

IMG_0304 MPW-13118

Movie poster credits to Universal Pictures.

I said in my past post: I’m crazy with classics! I bought this book as a gift for myself and I’m so glad I did. I knew it was a modern american classic but that was basically all the information I had on this one. I later realised later that the main topic of this book is racism. We are guided through the story by Scout, a very young girl who is the daughter of an attorney defending a black male on a rape case. At the time, even considering taking the side of a black person was unthinkable. Imagine how controversial defending one was! The perspective of such a young child on the matters of racism and what’s is right or not is so genuine. No one is born racist. It’s a very pure view on life.

The movie, like the book, is a classic! Gregory Peck has an amazing performance and his speech in the courthouse gives me chills every time. The black and white on this is gorgeous. Like all the movies I’ve talked in this post, this one is a pretty good adaptation. Very faithful to the original work but still with the necessary changes to work on screen.

I recommend this one if you need a reminder of how closed-minded people used to be.

As always, thank you for taking the time to read. It means a lot.

Cat.

One thought on “Book-to-Movie Adaptations! – Good Edition #1

  1. What a great idea (and what fun) to do some book/movie reviews like this.
    To Kill A Mockingbird is on my “to read again” list, and I intend to watch the movie again as well… the very sad thing, though, is to realize that people didn’t just used to be closed minded…there are plenty of the same issues (sometimes in different forms, but sometimes not) still very much alive in our world today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

