The Classics Club – Book List

Hello guys!
While I was doing some research, I came across The Classics Club. Like I said in my last posts, I absolutely love classics! Joining this club was a no brainer.

classicsclub

The goal is to choose more than fifty books classics (you define what’s a classic) in a time period of your choice (it can go up to five years!).

I made a list and I’ve decided that I’m going to read fifty-two classic books on five years. I’m going to with maximum of time because I have other stuff to read in the meanwhile and I don’t want to aim too high.

Here’s my list!

  • Anna Karenina, by Leo Tolstoy
  • David Copperfield, by Charles Dickens
  • The Scarlet Letter, by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens
  • Mrs. Dalloway, by Virginia Woolf
  • Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Brontë
  • A Queda Dum Anjo, by Camilo Castelo Branco (portuguese classic)
  • The Three Musketeers, by Alexandre Dumas
  • Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck
  • On The Road, by Jack Kerouac
  • Moby Dick, by Herman Melville
  • Gulliver’s Travels, by Jonathan Swift
  • The Count of Monte Cristo, by Alexander Dumas
  • Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, by Robert Louis Stevenson (re-read)
  • Crime and Punishment, by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  • Ulysses, by James Joyce
  • Catch-22, by Joseph Heller
  • Atonement, by Ian McEwan
  • Sense and Sensibility, by Jane Austen
  • Animal Farm, by George Orwell
  • Persuasion, by Jane Austen
  • The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, by L. Frank Baum
  • Memoirs Of A Geisha, by Arthur Golden
  • Romeo and Juliet, by William Shakespeare
  • Hamlet, by William Shakespeare
  • Gone With The Wind, by Margaret Mitchell
  • Little Women, by Louisa May Alcott
  • War and Peace, by Leo Tolstoy
  • Inferno, by Dante
  • Peter Pan, by J. M. Barrie
  • Macbeth, by William Shakespeare
  • The Book Of Disquiet, by Fernando Pessoa (portuguese classic)
  • The Antichrist, by Friedrich Nietzsche
  • Love In The Time Of Cholera, by Gabriel García Márquez
  • The Bell Jar, by Sylvia Plath
  • Franny and Zooey, by J.D. Salinger
  • Oliver Twist, by Charles Dickens
  • Hiroshima Mon Amour, by Marguerite Duras
  • Mary Poppins, by P. L. Travers
  • Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury
  • The Pearl, by John Steinbeck
  • The Gambler, by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  • A Tale Of Two Cities, by Charles Dickens
  • A Room With a View, by E. M. Forster
  • The Second Sex, by Simone de Beauvoir 
  • Alice Through The Looking-Glass, by Lewis Carroll
  • The Adventures Of Pinocchio, by Carlo Collodi
  • The Island Of Dr. Moreau, by H.G.Wells
  • The Name Of The Rose, by Umberto Eco
  • A Clockwork Orange, by Anthony Burgess (re-read)
  • Daisy Miller, by Henry James
  • Revolutionary Road, by Richard Yates

I hope I can read all of this! My first review will probably be “The Second Sex” since I’m currently starting half two. In the meanwhile, I have some posts ready for your, including reviews (non related to The Classics Club) and some specials.

As always, thank you for reading,

Cat.

6 thoughts on “The Classics Club – Book List

  1. In which Gone with the ind is an excellent book! I’m excited to see it on your list. 🙂 I hope you like it! You’ve got lost of great books on your list. Jane Eyre is another favorite of mine, as is Little Women. All the best! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

