Book Review #1 – The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy, by Douglas Adams

Hello guys!

Today I bring you a review! This one is about a very recent favourite of mine but I don’t think I ever read a book quite like this one. There’s so many things I like about this book, I’ll try not to turn this into a massive blog.

Let me start talking about: The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy, by Douglas Adams.

IMG_0314_1

IMG_0313_1IMG_0316_1

I’ve heard so much about this book before! From friends, celebrities I admire and simply from the internet. This book is all over the place. Especially for british people, this is almost a bible.

The book was written by Douglas Adams, a man who died way too young (a thing that seems to happen a lot to genius). The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy is the first book of a “trilogy” of six books. Right there, it is announced how funny this books are.

One day, Arthur Dent wakes up to realise that some bulldozers are outside his house, ready to demolish it. As he’s laying on the ground, trying to delay the taking down of his house, Ford Prefect, his best friend, appears and explains to him that the world was about to end! In order to escape Ford puts his thumb up and asks for a ride. They end up in a spaceship with a book that says “DON’T PANIC”. It was an adventurous morning for Arthur, don’t you think? And this was just the beginning.

I don’t even know where to start! This book is comical, full of aventures and great characters. My favourite is Marvin, a paranoid robot. He’s simply hilarious. I read mostly on public transportations and while I was reading this one, I got a lot of dirty looks. I chuckled all the time. The humor is a bit cheesy and old but it’s so good. The jokes come out of nowhere. As a reader, you’re used to serious adventure stories but this is none of that. Every single situation is completely unpredictable, an hilarious coincidences.

I also want to talk about this particular edition! It doesn’t only have a gorgeous cover but it also contains stickers (as pictured)! It has a foreword by Russell T. Davies. From the ones who don’t know him, this is the man that brought back Doctor Who, in 2005. As a massive DW fan this was definitely a plus. It has TONS of bonus material like photos of the author, press releases and even a typed up from Monty Python! And also, an extract from book two, “The Restaurant At The End Of The Universe”. So, awesome job Pan Books. I can’t wait to buy/read all the other five books. I bet they are as great as this one.

If you’re not a book person, don’t worry. This book has tons of adaptations including a movie, a TV series and lots of audiobooks (one narrated by the author). But I’m pretty sure if you’re not a bookworm like myself, you would probably still love this one because no one is really immune to good humor right? I definitely recommend this book to anyone.

Lastly, here’s one of my favourite extracts from the book:

For instance, on the planet Earth, man had always assumed that he was more intelligent than dolphins because he had achieved so much — the wheel, New York, wars and so on — whilst all the dolphins had ever done was muck about in the water having a good time. But conversely, the dolphins had always believed that they were far more intelligent than man — for precisely the same reasons. (…)

The last ever dolphin message was misinterpreted as a surprisingly sophisticated attempt to do a double-backwards-somersault through a hoop whilst whistling the ‘Star Spangled Banner’, but in fact the message was this: So long and thanks for all the fish.

I’m sorry if this is a long one. As always, thanks for reading!

Cat.

5 thoughts on “Book Review #1 – The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy, by Douglas Adams

  1. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is one of my favorite books ever. I read it after I watched the movie, which I loved. I love how humorous and unexpected everything is! I had never seen this cover before. I’m seriously tempted to buy it. I’m a Doctor Who fan as well and Russell T. Davies wrote some of my favorite episodes. I know it’s been like two years since you wrote this review, did you ever read the other books?
    Excellent review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

