Book-to-Movie Adaptations! – Bad Edition #1

Hello readers!

Some of you might have read one of my previous posts called Book-to-Movie Adaptations! – Good Edition #1. As I said in that, I’m not only going to talk about good book-to-movie adaptations but also about the not so brilliant adaptations. So, today I bring you the first couple of books on the bad edition!

  • Eragon, by Christopher Paolini IMG_0412eragon_ver7_xlg

Movie poster credits to Fox 2000 Pictures.

I was never a Harry Potter fan while growing up. In fact, I only read all the seven books when I was 15. The Inheritance Cycle was the series that grew with me. It is composed by four books: Eragon, Eldest, Brisingr and Inheritance. I still have a very special place in my heart for these books.

Eragon is a young boy who finds a very strange stone in the mountains that turns out to be one of the last dragon eggs. Later the egg hatch and Saphira is born, a beautiful female blue dragon. The four books tell the story of Eragon and Saphira trying to save their world from a mad king while also trying to figure out if there are still dragons alive.

The first one of the series, Eragon, was adapted to a movie in 2006. It counts with great actors such as Jeremy Irons and John Malkovich. I loved the movie when I was young but as I’ve been developing my taste in films, I realised how terrible this one is! The plot is a mess. They cut a lot of important events and characters. All the important details of the story are not explained well so a viewer with no knowledge of the book doesn’t understand even a bit! Eragon was such a box-office disaster that they didn’t even bother trying to do adaptations of the other books.

I breaks my heart thinking about how terribly they made an adaptation of one of my favourite childhood books!

  • Dracula, by Bram Stoker

IMG_0413

dracula_ver3_xlg

Movie poster credits to American Zoetrope.

I love horror classics! Dracula, Frankenstein and The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde are some of my favourite books ever! I remember reading Dracula, everything was so vivid and terrifying. It was a bit of a challenge to read as a non-native english speaker but it was nevertheless amazing.

The book tells the story of a man called Jonathan Harker that goes to the border of Transylvania, Bukovina and Moldavia to meet Count Dracula in order to give him real estate guidance since the Count wants to buy a house in London. After a couple of days, Harker realizes that he is a prisoner in the Count’s house. After a some weird experiences he can eventually escape, but his trouble are only beginning.

I absolutely LOVE the 1931 movie. My problem is with the recent one, directed by Francis Ford Coppola. If you enjoy cinema even a little bit, his name is probably familiar to you. He’s one of the most relevant american directors, with work marking the 70’s decade movie history. If someone has that big of a reputation, you expect a lot from their work. But this one was such a let down! The key points are there, but some are a bit different. The thing that really bothered me was that it was so overly sexualised! There were so many sex and erotic scenes. I usually don’t care about those but the ones in this movie were so unnecessary. The only good thing is Gary Oldman, who is a fantastic Dracula.

If you want to see a good movie adaptation of this amazing book, don’t bother with the Coppola one. The first adaptation is even a film classic.

  • The Picture of Dorian Gray, by Oscar Wilde

IMG_0414

dorian_gray_ver4_xlg

Movie poster credits to Ealing Studios.

This one was another great disappointment! I got the book from a friend on my birthday and I loved it. I saw that there was a movie and I felt so excited! I tend to believe that people actually try to make a good movie adaptation of a great book. It’s not the case most of times, though.

The Picture of Dorian Gray tells the story of two friends, one opinionated man, called Lord Henry Wotton, and an artist, called Basil Hallward. Basil is drawing a portrait of a young man, Dorian Gray. The three spend a lot of time together and the two friends influence Dorian’s vision on the world, especially on beauty. Things don’t go that well for these three men.

My main problem with this movie is that it’s simply badly constructed. The characters and the plot come off in a very different way from the original work. I hate movies that give you totally different feelings from the ones the original book wants to give you. This movies is also a bit cringe worthy, not even a great actor like Colin Firth can save it. I totally recommend the book, it gives you a great view on beauty and longevity. But this adaptation is complete garbage so don’t waste your time on it.

I really enjoy merging my two passions into one thing! If you guys like these, I intend on keeping this as a regular series. If you agree or disagree with any of these, let me know in the comments. Thank you so much for reading.

Cat.

Leave a Reply

