Favourite Quotes #1

Hey guys!

Today I’m going to start a new kind of posts where I share with you some of my favourite quotes of all time.

loli2

Book cover credits to Penguin Classics.

Lolita, light of my life, fire of my loins. My sin, my soul. Lo-lee-ta: the tip of the tongue taking a trip of three steps down the palate to tap, at three, on the teeth. Lo. Lee. Ta.

She was Lo, plain Lo, in the morning, standing four feet ten in one sock. She was Lola in slacks. She was Dolly at school. She was Dolores on the dotted line. But in my arms she was always Lolita.

Everyone that knows me even a little bit, probably knows that I’m totally obsessed with this opening lines from Lolita, by Vladimir Nabokov. These lines aren’t really complex: the language is very simple. Yet, the feelings are so many. All the sides of Lolita and Humbert Humbert’s passion are there. I simply love this part.

I enjoyed this book very much, especially the first part (I didn’t really care for the second one and to be honest, that was a complete letdown). Sometimes I feel that this story comes out as just about a creepy old man who likes little girls but I found it much more than that. It’s forgetful how Lolita controls and manipulates Humbert. She’s not innocent, at all. I guess that she’s probably the bad guy in this story.

This book is definitely on my to-buy list and when I end up getting a copy of it, I have to re-read it. I saw both movies after I read the book and I want to remember some of the feelings I had while reading it.

I hope you liked this post! More like this little ones will come.

Thank you for reading,

Cat.

One thought on “Favourite Quotes #1

Leave a Reply

