Book Review #9 – Of Mice And Men, by John Steinbeck

Hey guys!

Today I bring you a review from the most amazing book I’ve read in the last few months, Of Mice And Men by John Steinbeck.

Find any edition at Book Depository

IMG_1436

IMG_1442 IMG_1438I didn’t start my relationship with Steinbeck in the most pleasant of ways since I didn’t quite like The Grapes of Wrath. I found it way too slow and repetitive. And that ending… Urgh. But this beautiful cover sold this one out to me and, since it’s much more smaller than the other one, I decided to give it a go.

John Steinbeck is an american writer that lived between 1902 and 1968. He won the Pulitzer Prize several times but his most important acomplishment is the Nobel Prize. His most known works have the same theme: the Great Depression. He has a notable simple style of writing, combining humour with strong social statements.

Of Mice And Men tells the story of two men: George and Lennie. The first one is very small and the other one is very big. (And he’s also “a little slow in the head”, like it says in the book) They travel together to a farm, in order to work and get some money to get their own.

This little book is magical. It’s super small so I read it in almost no time at all. Even though it has all the repetitiveness and slowness that I talked above, it’s not a drag. I think Steinbeck’s style works so much better in small works (I also read The Pearl recently and the same happens). I loved its rawness. The words he uses are so simple yet they say so much. Elaborate writing, with tons of big words doesn’t make a book necessarily better. His characters are simple people who live simple lives: they talk just like they should. And he writes exactly how they do speak, not always with the best grammar and sometimes even suppressing a few letters. It’s quite funny to read with those southerner accents, even if it’s only in your head.

I quite identified with this book. Like Lennie and George, I have big dreams. And sometimes there’s just too many people saying I won’t be able to do it. You can try and try and even so fail. That’s something I’m truly scared of. Most times, these dreams are what make us get up in the morning. Imagine what would be like to loose that drive one day. All these things and a lot more rushed through my mind will reading Of Mice And Men. I was devastated when I got to the end of this book and that hadn’t happen for the longest of times.

I would love to discuss this book with anyone who has read it, whether they’ve liked it or not. I was expecting this to be a good one but I never imagined it would be like this. It was an amazing surprise. And I guess that contributed to how much I enjoyed this book. I totally recommended it if you haven’t guessed by now. It was by far my favourite Steinbeck book. I still have to dive in more into his work. It’s so vast so the options are almost limitless. I hope I find another one like Of Mice And Men.

Here’s one of my favourite quotes. This one was hard.

Guy don’t need no sense to be a nice fella. Seems to me sometimes it jus’ works the other way around. Take a real smart guy and he ain’t hardly ever a nice fella.

EDIT: I totally forgot to mention this was in my Classics Club list! It’s my second one only, I’m slowly getting by.

Thank for reading this post!

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Book Review #9 – Of Mice And Men, by John Steinbeck

Leave a Reply

