The Reading Diversely Tag

Hello guys!

I’ve seen this amazing tag on booksandquills channel, on Youtube, and I wanted to do it so badly. Basically, what you have to do is choose two books (one read and another to read) written by authors from all the continents (except Antarctica, for obvious reasons). Here are my choices.

Ps: No original photos today since I didn’t have enough time for that, sadly.

EUROPE

  • Blindness, by José Saramago (Portugal)

2526

 Cover credits to Harvest Books

Find any edition at Book Depository

I wouldn’t be very patriotic if I didn’t include a portuguese writer in here right? Saramago is my favourite of them all, if not my favourite ever. He wrote the most incredible books I’ve ever read. He was a pure genius and I’m still deeply sad with his death, almost five years later. Anyway, this is not my favourite book from him, because I want to make a gigantic post about that one, since it’s my favourite book EVER. Here’s his second best. In this book the whole world is inexplicably blind, but it’s not a regular blindness: it’s white. There’s only one women that can see and we follow her huge struggle in maintaining everyone else’s humanity.

  •  The Unbearable Lightness Of Being, by Milan Kundera (Czech Republic)

9780571200832

Cover credits to Faber & Faber Fiction

Find any edition at Book Depository

I bought this book a little while ago and I’m very excited to read it since it’s very different from my usual choices. It explores the artistic and intellectual life in Czech republic during the Prague Spring. Also, the author has a very particular life story since he was exiled from his home country because of his communist views.

NORTH AMERICA

  • Scott Pilgrim series, by Bryan Lee O’Malley (Canada)

scott-pilgrim-covers

Cover credits to Fourth Estate

Find any edition at Book Depository

Well, this recommendation is obvious. But I wanted to include Canada in this list. I figured I never read canadian fiction. Something to change in a near future! This books are graphic novels, accompanying the story of Scott Pilgrim and his fight agains the seven evil exes of the girl he loves, Ramona Flowers. I also choose these particular series because there’s so many details and special places from Toronto in this book, it almost feels like a tourist guide sometimes. It seemed fitting.

  • On The Road, by Jack Kerouac (United States of America)

9780141189215

Cover credits to Penguin Classics

Find any edition at Book Depository

It doesn’t get more American then Kerouac or Steinbeck! It’s a book based on the travels of the author and his friends across the United States. It sounds like such a perfect guide of the country, I just had to include the book.

SOUTH AMERICA

  • One Hundred Years Of Solitude, by Gabriel García Márquez (Colombia)

em

Cover credits to D. Quixote

Find any edition at Book Depository

I completely remember the feeling of awe I had when I finished this one. The ending has one of the most beautiful images I’ve ever seen written in a page. The colombian author died this year unfortunately but I’m glad he got the appreciation he deserved. This book particularly follows several generations of the Buendía family, through one hundred years. I’ve decided to include here the cover that I own, from the portuguese edition. I find the cover so beautiful.

  • City Of The Beasts, by Isabel Allende (Chile)

beasts

Cover credits to Harper Trophy

Find any edition at Book Depository

This author is particularly popular here in Portugal! I’ve always been very curious about this book, when one of my classmates made a presentation about it, back in 10th grade. This is the first volume of a trilogy and it starts with Alex Cold and the expedition of his grandma to the center of the Amazon, in search of the Beast. Of course that a lot of mysteries await them…

ASIA

  • Sputnik Sweetheart, by Haruki Murakami (Japan)

sputnik-sweetheart

Cover credits to VINTAGE

Find any edition at Book Depository

Haruki Murakami is one of my favourite writers ever. I’ve never seen myself enjoying surrealist books until I dove into the strange worlds that he writes. This one is a perfect example of his work. This man called K is in love with Sumire, an aspiring writer. During a wedding, Sumire begins feeling attracted to a woman 17 year olds her senior, called Miu. After this event, K starts getting letters from Sumire from all around the world.

  • Never Let Me Go, by Kazuo Ishiguro (Japan)

6334

Cover credits to Paw Prints

Find any edition at Book Depository

This is one of those books I REALLY want to read but never got around to even buy it. The books is a dystopian sci-fi novel where these kids attend a school where teachers constantly remind their students of how special they are. Years later, one of the students puts together all the pieces of that mystery.

OCEANIA

  • 1984, by George Orwell (Australia)

2012-_-1984

Cover credits to Antígona

Find any edition at Book Depository

I don’t have much to add about this one, I have a full review on it.

  • The Book Thief, by Mark Zusak (Australia)

71h2sjik5al-_sl1380_

Cover credits to Black Swan

Find any edition at Book Depository

This book is set during World War II, in Germany. A little girl prevents books from being burned, by stealing them. This is as much as I want to know about this one. A curious fact, the narrator is Death, which makes it automatically more impressive.

AFRICA

I realised that, unfortunately, I never read a book by any african author so here I added two books from my to-read list.

  • We Should All Be Feminists, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nigeria)

chimamanda-book-cover-we-should-all-be-feminists-2014

Cover credits to Fourth Estate

Find any edition at Book Depository

This is not particularly a book. It’s the speech that Adichie made in a TED conference, that one Beyoncé used as a sample in her single “***FLAWLESS”, about females and the way we are treated by society. I loved it so much but I feel like it’s something we all should read and really think about all the points she makes, pounder every word. I really want to read the author’s novels also but since I recently got into books about feminism, this one is on top of those.

  • Disgrace, by J. M. Coetzee (South Africa)

1999 J M Coetzee Disgrace

Cover credits to VINTAGE

Find any edition at Book Depository

Coetzee is probably the most popular south african author at the moment. This book talks about a fifty-something teacher who has a simply simple life. But all changes when he starts falling in love with one of his students. I’m aware that this book is very strong in terms of sexual happenings so please be careful with it in case your sensitive to those subjects.

I would like to end this post by talking about how much of a diverse reader I am; but I’m clearly not. There’s so much literature I need to dive in more, especially african. Culture is what makes us different from one another and as a citizen of the world I think I should be more involved with every single one, besides my own. Most books I have or want to read are from european or american authors. I also realised how little female authors I’ve read so far and I need to change that also.

I hope this BIG post has inspire you to read more translated and foreign books. Feel free to do this tag if you want to! Link them below. I assure you it is very fun and eye-opening. Let me know about all your diverse readings in the comments. Thanks for reading!

Cat.

Leave a Reply

