December + Christmas Book Haul

Hey guys!

December was a big month for books. And also the month of big books! With Christmas and Flea Markets, I got some pretty cool titles.

Here’s my December + Christmas book haul.

DPP_0016

  • The Fellowship Of The Ring (pt. A Irmandade do Anel), by J. R. R. Tolkien

DPP_0017 DPP_0018

Find any edition at Book Depository

I’ve been searching for this edition for such a long time! I got the other two really cheaply some summers ago but when I went to buy The Fellowship Of The Ring, it had already sold out. After months and months of searching I found a guy selling it second hand at a very good price. I didn’t even think twice! A complete series makes my world a better place. This cool edition has lots of stills from the movie inside! I don’t think I have to introduce you to this one, since Lord Of The Rings is a word wide phenomenon, being one of the most popular book series ever.

  • Eldest, by Christopher Paolini

DPP_0003 DPP_0004

Find any edition at Book Depository

Yay to another complete series! Eldest was the only volume of the Inheritance Cycle I didn’t own yet. I didn’t want to buy it new since I felt like it wouldn’t have the spirit of the other ones. I finally found someone selling it at a Flea Market and I got it! It’s the second volume of the Cycle and it continues the story of Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, in their quest to save their doomed world.

  • Breakfast at Tiffany’s, by Truman Capote

DPP_0005 DPP_0006

Find any edition at Book Depository

I wasn’t planning on buying a copy of this one, but when I saw that beautiful cover, I just had to have it. Penguin does it again for me! This story inspired the movie that all white middle class girls know Audrey Hepburn from. The story follows a narrator who becomes friends with Holly, a country girl made café-socialite in New York City. This beautiful edition has some other of Capotes short stories.

  • The Animator’s Survival Kit, by Richard Williams

DPP_0001DPP_0002Find any edition at Book Depository

I want to work in animation someday. For anyone kinda included in this area, this book is almost like a Bible. It has everything you need to know about movement, timings, facial expressions… you name it! I can’t time to apply what I want to learn from this book in some of my upcoming works. This was the lovely christmas gift from my parents this year.

  • A Song Of Ice And Fire series, by George R. R. Martin

DPP_0010 DPP_0011 DPP_0012 DPP_0013 DPP_0014 DPP_0015

Find any edition at Book Depository

I spent most of last year reading all this five books! I wanted to own them since they’re not only one of the most important pop-culture phenomenons of our time, but also because I can’t get enough of all the characters and twists and turns of this story. My favourite is A Storm Of Swords even though the best cover award goes to A Dance With Dragons. I can’t wait for volume six to be out! This little box set has Tyrion Lannister on one side and Jon Snow in the other. It was a present from my family. A Song Of Ice And Fire (or A Game Of Thrones, how it is known because of the tv series) tells the story of several characters and their fights for the Seven Kingdoms, for its throne or its well being.

  • Ms. Marvel – No Normal, by Sana Amanat, G. Willow Wilson, and Adrian Alphona (here‘s my review)

DPP_0007 DPP_0008 DPP_0009Find any edition at Book Depository

I can’t even begin to talk about this one! A review is going to happen soon since it’s definitely my favourite graphic novel of 2014. No Normal is the first volume of the new run of Ms. Marvel (also known as Miss Marvel and Captain Marvel), by Marvel. It features Kamala Khan (aka the best/my favourite fiction characters ever), a muslim american that suddenly gains inhuman powers and starts saving her little town from all its evil. It’s not only a great comic (without ridiculous plot holes and excessive drama) but it makes a point in the diversity of super heroes and its writers. Above there’s my favourite panel with Captain Marvel, Iron Man, Captain American, sloths with wings, weird birds and a fish. The drawings are completely mesmerising, and so different. It was a present from my wonderful boyfriend who knows how much I want to be like Kamala. Oh and it’s also my first Marvel Comic!

So yeah, this is it! I’m happy about December. Money is very short right now so next month’s haul won’t be nothing like this one. Hope to see you next time!

Cat.

5 thoughts on “December + Christmas Book Haul

Leave a Reply

