Book Review #12 – Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn

Hello readers!

I have no idea why I completely forgot to write and post a review for this massive success of 2014, in anticipation to its adaptation to cinema. I read it such a long time ago… My mind isn’t what it used to be, at all.

Anyway, here’s my review of Gone Girl, by girl author Gillian Flynn.

WARNING: THIS REVIEW IS NOT COMPLETELY SPOILER FREE! Read at your own will!

Find any edition at Book Depository

IMG_1919


IMG_1915

This book was me forcing myself to get more into contemporary books. I want to read way more current stuff, be more aware of what everyone is talking about when a big book makes its impact. I’m still late to the game but I’m trying to keep up. I’m way into the old classics and I neglect the ones who are probably going to become classics later.

Gillian Flynn is an american writer. She used to be a television critic for Entertainment Weekly and that completely shows in the amount of pop culture references that she disguised between all the pages of this book. Gone Girl is her biggest success so far, even thought all her other books are making a big impact in the literary world. The movie adaptation released last year, was directed by David Fincher, counting with Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike in the lead roles.

Nick and Amy Dunne, a regular married couple, are forced to leave their lives in New York city when they both loose their jobs because of the 2009 recession. They move to a small town, beside the Missisipi river, where Nick is originally from. On their fifth wedding anniversary, Amy disappears. With the police investigation in order to find her, some juicy details come to the public eye. And not everything is exactly what it seems.

Wow, this book is such a ride! So many ups and downs, as expected in a thriller and mystery book. But, disappointedly, sometimes, the action comes a little slowly. The book isn’t terrible but I expected a lot more. The ride is bumpy but I was expecting an even bumpier one. Some events take a LOT of time to actually happen, even though you can see them coming from miles away. But, when they do happen, damn they are explosive. The first half of the book, narrated only by present Nick and past Amy, is very curious. Constantly, everything that both of them say is completely contradictory. From the start, you smell something very fishy. And goddamn, the second half! The first couple of chapters are so many slaps in the face! So many plot twists! AAHHHH!!!

The two main characters spend their whole time trying to make the other one feel as miserable as possible, and sometimes it’s not even on purpose. To me, this is the ultimate anti-marriage book. The author spends so much time empathising how couples are deliberately mean to each other during their time together. Some much of that is spend trying to get back at each other, punishing the person you should love the most for something that’s most of the times so insignificant. I wasn’t really a big fan of marriages and the whole “spending my life with someone I love” thing but I’m definitely a little more not into it now.

I loved how the big climax in the book happened in the middle of it. It’s not everyday that you have to deal with the aftermath of a climax in literature. So kudos for that. But the thing that that completely threw me of of this story was the ending. I know that everything is a big exaggeration for marriage problems but I think it’s pretty incoherent with the rest of the story. In other note, the thing I loved the most about this one is the amount of girl power it has! The main lesson, I think, is not to deal with a man’s bullsh*t if he ain’t treating you right. You don’t have to conform. And that applies to any type of person, not only men. Girls are too often told they need to be perfect and do what they are told. But you know what, we don’t! Women are as human as everyone else. We have flaws and imperfections. And most importantly, we have our own minds, desires and wills.  Of course, the mind can only deal with pressure for so long. Eventually it breaks and things don’t go really well for everyone. I love the first chapter of the second part of the book, Boy Meets Girl. I absolutely love Amy’s rant about how women are perceived by men, and how she’s sick and tired of being someone she is not. It’s her most bad-ass scene!

In summary, somethings in this book really disappointed me, especially the end. I cannot get over it. It seems overly unrealistic and it left a bitter taste in my mouth. But, with that being said, it’s not a bad book. Maybe my hopes were too high, or I was expecting something else. Anyway, if you want to read a nice book with a lot of mystery, you should check out Gone Girl! Here’s one my favourite quotes:

Tampon commercial, detergent commercial, maxi pad commercial, windex commercial – you’d think all women do is clean and bleed.

Thank you guys so much for tuning in! See you next week! Wish me luck for the end of the semester.

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Book Review #12 – Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn

  1. “But, disappointedly, sometimes, the action comes a little slowly.” This. Although I’ve only seen the movie I completely agree with your book review. When the wife’s monologue came on with her driving in the car (trying to be spoiler free) I thought that was the end of the movie. But no, it was the middle. Needless to say, I was getting a bit antsy. Anyways, I also loved the plot twists and overall thrill of the book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

