Books I’m Planning On Purchasing Soon #2

Hey guys!

My last post of this kind was almost six months ago! I finally bought all the books I had on that list so I thought it was fitting to do this again! Here are the books I really want to buy soon.

bannepurchasing

  • A Monster Calls, by Patrick Ness

A_Monster_Calls

Find any edition of this title at Book Depository

Patrick Ness is one of the authors of the moment! Every single one of his books has tons of success and a public of their own. Now that he has a new book coming up, I think it’s time to finally see what all the fuss is about. I’m a bit hesitant in reading series or sagas (Ness wrote The Chaos Walking trilogy) so I’d rather begin with A Monster Calls. This particular book started on the mind of Siobhan Dowd. Unfortunately, she died before finishing the novel so, later on Ness picked it up and, with all the freedom in the world, made it his own novel. The edition pictured is illustrated by Jim Kay even though there’s a new edition without any drawings (from what I’ve seen they are very pretty and I heard they’re really helpful to get the right mood from the book).

It tells the tale of a young english boy who is trying to cope with the fact that his mother has a terminal disease. A monster visits him during the middle of the night and tells him stories.

  • The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak

71h2sjik5al-_sl1380_

Find any edition of this title at Book Depository

This book took, and still is taking, the world by storm! And let’s be honest, who wouldn’t love a book about a girl who also loves books?! I really love the setting of this book. I’ve always been a bit fascinated by the Nazi movement.

This story is set in Germany, during Hitler’s leadership. Liesel is a foster child who can’t resist the urge to steal books! She shares her books with all her neighbours during the air raids, as well as the jewish man who is hiding in her basement. I also talked about this book on my post The Reading Diversely Tag.

  • Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, by Robin Sloan

penumbra

Find any edition of this title at Book Depository

I have not heard a lot of people talk about this one but when they do, it’s always with such excitement! Besides I really love the tile! I mean, just imagine a bookstore open twenty-four hours!

Clay is a shop clerk of Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore. There’s not a lot of clients there and they mostly don’t even buy anything. When they do, it’s always some large, dark volumes from the most forgetful corners of the store. Clay then sets his mind to figure out the mystery behind the client’s behaviours. But, what he does find out, isn’t exactly what he expected.

I seriously hope I don’t have to wait another six months to get around this titles. I’m so so curious to real all this stories but my budget is really really tight right now. We’ll see how things go! Anyway, if you read any of this titles, please let me know what you thought! Also, feel free to recommend me any book, at any given time.

Thank you for reading guys! I hope you enjoyed it.

Cat.

4 thoughts on “Books I’m Planning On Purchasing Soon #2

  1. Yep, I’m planning on read The Book Thief, and I have to see the movie too. It’s like Inkheart, a book about books and stories, it’s just perfect 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment