Book Review #21 – Yes Please, by Amy Poehler

Hello guys!

In honour of International Women’s Day, today’s review is about a book written by a woman I’m really starting to admire. And oh, I really am committed on reading non-fiction! We’re only in the third month of the year and I’ve already read two books! Today’s all about Yes Please, by the fantastic Amy Poehler.

Find any edition of this book at Book Depository

yesplease

I’ve only recently started watching Parks and Recreation but I can say with all certainty that Leslie Knope is one of my favourite characters ever. She’s so funny and driven! I aspire to have only half of that determination, even thought if anyone was like Knope in real life, others would want to “punch” her in the face (not literally). That much energy needs to be stopped or it will drain everyone around. I really wanted to know more about the person behind that amazing character.

Yes Please is the memoir/”semi” autobiography by Amy Poehler, a very successful actress that has worked in Saturday Night Live, Parks and Recreation and another great collection of movies. In this book, she talks about her upbringing, her career, personal experiences and whatever she feels like transmitting to her readers. The book felt like a good crossing between a memoir and a self-help book. In between chapters, there’s a lot of old photos and some ridiculous new ones. Like the one bellow, for example, where Amy is dressed as a man.

XXX POEHLER YES PLEASE BOOKS JY 3727 .JPG A FEA

© Liezl Estipona

I honestly cannot express how much more I love Amy after this book. Even though, as I said before, I didn’t knew that much about her, I’ve been following her work not only as an actress but also on Amy Poehler’s Smart Girls (an organisation that encourages girls to be more active in everything in society). Now, I can honestly say that I admire her and can only aspire to be half of the woman she is. She seems wonderful. She grew up in a pretty boring town but she never let that stop her. She tried to make the best out of every single situation she was in. Most of all, I admire her strength to get up, leave and be exposed to whatever she wanted to become. The courage to leave her comfortable life and more to a new town, working with new people… It must take a lot of guts!

Most of the book is about her career (it makes sense since that’s what she’s known for). It all started with drama club, then it evolved to improv and finally SNL and Parks and Rec. I truly enjoyed the chapters on SNL. I had no clue on what happens backstage and all the process required to make the next show. It was very informative. I thought the chapters on the whole improv times were a bit too long. It’s probably because it was the most important part of her career but I felt that too much time was spent on that.

There were some bits in the book that weren’t written by Poehler. Sometimes, one of her friends would just hop in an write a chapter or some notes. There’s content by Seth Meyers, Tina Fey and Michael Schur. It was so cool! And it made the whole read a lot more fun and entertaining. Sometimes, I didn’t even feel like I was reading a book. It felt more like a fun and long talk. Everything always seemed so up close and personal.

All the little details are so wonderful. The book is filled with personal photos, and little handwritten notes. I love that! I hadn’t read any memoir or biography before but I thought it was the standard thing to do. Seeing in person, though, felt so good! It was a shame that I read the e-book, those details probably look pretty cool printed. I’ve also heard that the audio-book, narrated by Poehler herself, it’s incredibly funny. I always read with her voice in my mind but the real thing might be even better!

The main message of this book is something that I’ve been finding constantly in all books written by females: don’t be afraid to say yes to an opportunity that’s a bit out of your comfort zone. This is so important for all of us ladies! Most times, we say no to things because we’re afraid to fail. We’re constantly tested, all our moves are watched and we pressure ourselves to succeed to the maximum. We have to stop being afraid and just do it! There’s so many things we might be missing on. That’s a powerful lesson and all girls need it.

The most important thing that I have to say is that this book is HILARIOUS! Like, you have no idea. Even when things are very serious, there’s always a little glimpse of humour. I had to struggle real badly not to laugh out loud in public.

This read felt really good. It was fresh and eye opening. I needed that. I don’t really know what my expectations for this book were but I liked it very much really. If you like Poehler’s work, you have to read this! It will only make you admire her a whole lot more, I guarantee you. It also made me more curious to read other actors memoirs or biographies. It gives you a wonderful insight of their existence, with the good and the bad, without having to stalk them online!

Here’s one of my favourite quotes:

Telling me to relax or smile when I’m angry is like bringing a birthday cake into an ape sanctuary. You’re just asking to get your nose and genitals bitten off.

If you read this title already, please let me know what you thought of it!

Thank you for sticking by!!

Cat.

14 thoughts on “Book Review #21 – Yes Please, by Amy Poehler

  1. Not a big fan of non-fiction (okay, not a fan at all) but I pick them up if I think they will amuse me every once in awhile… like once a year LOL. Anywoo, I love this actor even though I didn’t know her name (I rarely remember names). She is hilarious. Must watch P&R soon ~ never got into it!

    Like

  2. I’m a big fan of Parks and Recreation and have quoted it a few times on my blog. She really does sound inspiring. She’s a fab host. I’d be curious to read this and Tina Fey’s autobiography.

    Like

  3. I LOVE this book. I always like amy Poehler. This book had me cracking up with her sheer honesty about life and such. I also adore her in parks and rec. this is one book I’m so glad I bought.

    Like

  4. I love the messages she had about how important it is to prioritise yourself. Amy discusses the power that the word “no” can give women, which in itself is interesting as her book is called “Yes Please”. The power of no has even been backed up by Gavin de Becker who believes than instead of the start of a negotiation “no” should be a complete sentence! Whether it’s saying no to yourself or others it’s really cool the empowerment you can get through that! I’d love to hear any thoughts you have about how standing up for yourself and saying “no” has impacted your life! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

