Book Review #24 – Throne Of Glass, by Sarah J. Maas

Hey guys! Today I bring you a review from my first fantasy book in a very long time. It’s Throne Of Glass, by the beautiful Sarah J. Maas.

Find any edition of this book over at Book Depository

Throne_of_Glass_UK

I’m always a bit reluctant about starting new series. If you like them, you have to read the rest of the books. If you don’t, it’s almost a waste of time. I spent most of the end of last year and the beginning of this one debating whether or not I should read this series. All the members of Booklr (the book dedicated community on Tumblr) are completely obsessed with it, and all those long talks, incredible fan art and even hilarious powerpoint presentations made me really curious. I couldn’t resist anymore so I got the e-book.

Throne of Glass is the first book of a six part series, with the same name. There’s also a prequel, that was released last year. There’s three books out already. They are, in order: The Assassin’s Blade, Throne Of Glass, Crown Of Midnight and Heir Of Fire. The forth book will be out in September of this year and it is called Queen Of Shadows.

Sarah J. Maas is an absolutely gorgeous woman and incredible writer. This series has brought her the greatest success of her life, being one of the many New York Times Bestseller authors. In May, her new series will be released. The first volume is called, A Court Of Thorns And Roses.

This particular book tells the story of Celaena Sardothien, the most dangerous and dreaded of the assassins. She is chosen to be the champion of the prince of Adarlan. The king is starting a competition to find out who’s going to be his next “bodyguard”. While this lasts, some of the other champions start to appear dead, in the more grotesque of ways. In the meanwhile, she finds love and true friendship.

I had very high hopes for this title but I tried not to be influenced by that. Also, it’s been quite a while since I’ve read a fantasy book so I was a bit afraid of how I would deal with the new world and words/terms. All my fears were completely unnecessary. As soon as I started to read the story, I completely feel in love. The plot is told at a great pace, taking just the right amount of time to explain the events and familiarise the reader with the world and its rules.

Calaena is absolutely one of my new favourite characters. She has a depth like I’ve never seen before. No other character has ever felt that real before. Besides from being amazingly gorgeous, Celaena is a badass. She’s sassy, ironic, funny and in total control of any weapon or deadly situation. She also loves to read, adores animals and is a romantic at heart. I mean, Celaena is the ultimate package. I have a huge crush on her and I also want to be like her – is that weird?

I’ve heard a lot of criticism about the romance in this book. We’re so used to see assassins and criminals portrayed as ruthless and cold people, with absolutely no intentions of having any sort of personal relationship with another human being. Apparently, seeing an eighteen year-old girl with feelings has really bugged some people. Celaena is a victim of the life events that pretty much determined what she would be. She’s a certain way because of that but she can’t help who she is by nature. The romance is totally on point and it’s probably one of the most realist scenarios I’ve seen in contemporary literature. I also love that she’s has two love interests, Dorian and Chaol. Like I said, it only makes everything more true and close to what life really is.

The only thing that I didn’t quite like was the magic at the end. I don’t really know how to explain it but it somehow seemed a little bit too much. I understand that it’s going to be a big part of the series from this point on so I don’t know how I’ll like the next titles.

Regardless of that, I want to keep reading Throne Of Glass. I guess that I mainly want to see what’s going to happen to Celeana and Nehemia, her new best friend (which is a total badass princess). I’m still debating whether I want to start buying physical copies of the books or just stick with the e-books. A decision still is in need to be made but I guess we’ll wait and see. I need to go through my physical TBR pile and then we’ll see.

I definitely recommend this book to everyone. If you enjoy fantasy, this is really your book. If you’re a bit like me and only like some ocasional magic in your life, this will feel like a great read.

My favourite quote is also the most popular:

Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.

Thank you guys for reading! And stick around to find out if I eventually end this series or not.

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Book Review #24 – Throne Of Glass, by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I have heard soo much about this series but have yet to start it. one of my blogging buddies is obsessed with her writing and I really need to get started with this book. I am gad to hear that the main character has depth, that is one of my biggest problems – when a character is very one dimensional. Great review, cat 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

