ARC | Graphic Novel/Manga Review #7 – The Worrier’s Guide To Life, by Gemma Correll

Hey guys!

Today’s book is from one of my favourite artists. Here’s The Worrier’s Guide To Life by Gemma Correll.

Find this book over at Book Depository

9781449466008_frontcover

Gemma Correll is honestly one of the artists I look up to more. I’ve been a fan of her work for a while and I swear I almost cried when I saw this title on NetGalley. Do you remember that “pugs not drugs” t-shirt that was all over the internet some time ago? That’s one of her designs! Actually, most of her illustration features pugs and cats, my absolute favourite domestic animals. I’ve also been swooning over her cat calendar but I guess April is a bit late to get one.

This is not the artists first book: you can just google her name and find lots and lots of other similar projects. Her books don’t particularly fit the graphic novel or comic category, they’re almost picture books (I had quite an internal debate on which type of review I should include this one). Particularly, this title is a compilation of illustrations on life and all its complicated things. More specifically, it  focus on anxiety and people suffering from it.

Her work is very characteristic. The illustrations are usually very simple,  with a predominant colour and some funny or sarcastic text. But don’t be mistaken by its looks, Correll’s work is full of every type of messages! She has a special gift: difficult or sensitive subjects are always approached with a humour and easiness that isn’t at all common. Considering the main topic of the book, this read was pretty light and fun.

I loved the great amount of pets and self-loathing jokes. The drawings were always on point and extremely well done. I wish I could live in the world of her art. It’s just like our very own but a lot more fun and quirky! My favourite chapter was called “Love & Other Anxieties” and it basically summed up my life. I really loved this book.

I feel like this book is a great representation of Gemma Correll’s work. If you want to know more about her, go visit her website. I hope you fall in love, like I did! I don’t have a lot more to add so I’ll leave you with some of my favourite illustrations!

Screen Shot 2015-04-14 at 17.03.45 Screen Shot 2015-04-14 at 17.04.28 Screen Shot 2015-04-14 at 17.04.47 Screen Shot 2015-04-14 at 17.05.06

I honestly hope that you liked this review! Hope to see you next time!

Cat.

2 thoughts on “ARC | Graphic Novel/Manga Review #7 – The Worrier’s Guide To Life, by Gemma Correll

Leave a Reply

