Graphic Novel/Manga Review #10 – Batgirl, Vol. 1: The Darkest Reflection by Gail Simone, Ardian Syaf and Vicente Cifuentes

Hello guys!

Today’s review is of a comic that has one hell of a girl as a protagonist! It’s Batgirl, Vol. 1: The Darkest Reflection by Gail Simone, Ardian Syaf and Vicente Cifuentes!

13228436

Find any edition of this book over at Book Depository

For some reason, I decided to start reading Batgirl from the beginning . After all the controversy regarding the cover of issue #41, I needed to see for myself what Barbara Gordon really is. The common knowledge is: she was shot by Joker (see Batman: The Killing Joke) and was left paralyzed. It seems that everything surrounding this character involves her accident and Joker. Most people know absolutely nothing about her besides that. So, this read is my research on this character.

After three years in a wheelchair, Barbara makes a steady recovery and starts fighting crime again. A new villain, Mirror, emerges and starts killing, what appears to be, random people. As Batgirl confronts the villain, her own problems and secrets start to take their toll on her own feelings.

I don’t quite understand the length of this volume. As I told in my synopsis, the main plot focus on the fight against Mirror but for some reason, when that is over, the story picks up another villain? This should have ended in issue 4, not 6. God, issue 4 ends with such a cliffhanger (not villain related)! I see no point in keeping it going , other than making it the TPB bigger. This definitely affected my view in the story.

Which I wasn’t particularly liking before. The pace is a bit slow and Mirror isn’t at all that interesting. The inner debates of Barbara, and her personality, were the only thing I truly enjoyed. She’s a great character. The writing isn’t that terrible but it’s not amazing. All the puns and bad jokes are normal and honestly expected in super-heroes stories but after a few, my patience runs out.

The art isn’t my favourite either. Maybe I’m a bit picky with artwork, I never thought of this before but lately I’ve been realizing that it’s hard to please me. This one is a bit too “normal”, if that makes any sense. I like drawings that completely pop out of the pages, making the story vivid and almost happening right in front of my eyes.

Anyway, this read was ok. It was a good introduction on Barbara and Batgirl. I think I’ll continue to read it because I want to get to the new issues, of Brenden Fletcher, Cameron Stewart and Babs Tarr (one of my favourite artists ever). Did you read this volume? If so, what did you think? Let me know!

Hope to see you next time!

Cat.

6 thoughts on “Graphic Novel/Manga Review #10 – Batgirl, Vol. 1: The Darkest Reflection by Gail Simone, Ardian Syaf and Vicente Cifuentes

  1. DUNADUNUNAUANAUNAAAAA BATGIRL! Ha,sorry. I haven’t read any of the Batgirl comics yet but I’ve been debating on picking them up. I probably will, between her and Harley, I’d loved to know more.

    Like

  2. Having just finished Batgirl volume 3, I’d say hang in there, it definitely gets better! :3 However, I was encouraged to read Batman volume 3 (Death of the Family) BEFORE reading Batgirl’s volume 3, as it sets the scene a lot better (in retrospect, I don’t know how well Batgirl’s version of events would have worked as a standalone).

    I do have to agree with what you say about each volume being slightly out of sync with its story in terms of length. Volume 3 also does this, and I found it pretty confusing. I have fallen in love with the DC universe, so I am persisting, and want to get completely up-to-date with Batgirl, but there are definite flaws.

    Let me know if/when you read Death of the Family (Batman OR Batgirl) because that storyline is so very dark!

    Like

    • thank you so much for your suggestions! I’ve been wanting to read more of Batgirl but I haven’t done that after I finished this! (merely because I’m not that into it) but I’ll do as you told 😀 did you read the previous volumes of batman too or just that one?

      Like

      • You’re welcome! I literally just picked up volume 3 of Batman, and I didn’t feel lost at all (a little background knowledge from having watched the films was enough).

        I saw that you had reviewed Suicide Squad – I might just tackle that next! I love the character of Harley Quinn and can’t wait to see the upcoming film!

        Like

Leave a Reply

