Book Review #28 – All The Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr

Hello!

Today’s review is about my favourite read of the year so far. It’s All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr.

all-the-lgiht-we-cannot-see

Find any edition of this book over at Book Depository

If it wasn’t for one of my bookclubs, I don’t think I would ever pick up this title. When it was announced as the read of the month, I wasn’t that excited. I never was too big on historical fiction. Actually, I think this is my second read book of that genre.

The chapters are mainly told from two point of views: Marie-Laure, a blind girl from Paris, and Werner, a prodigy boy from a small town in Germany. The main story is set between 1934 and 1944, during World War II. There’s a lot of focus on war and the invasions of France and other countries.

Anthony Doerr is an american author of fiction and short stories. He has written some books during his career but only now his work has have success. It made me very curious to know why he decided to tell this particular story but I still haven’t got a change to do so.

I don’t think I ever read a story so simple yet so beautiful. The chapters are very short, making the read a quick one (even though this book has a massive amount of almost 800 pages in most editions). The style of writing is something like I never read. The sentences are short and quick. There’s not a lot of complicated metaphors or other figures of speech. It seems amazing to me how anyone can tell so many beautiful things with so little. You picture every single detail of the story perfectly. I mean, I never experienced the destruction and pain of war (fortunately) but that didn’t stopped me from taking a full experience from this book.

That brings me to another thing I loved about this book: How can you have such beautiful moments and others so horrible in the same book?! I had so many feelings during the read, and all so different from each others. I haven’t felt that much with a book in a long time. The characters were so complex and dense. The situations and story are so different from my own but the empathy developed with them is so strong.

One of the main locations that inspired this story is so breathtaking! The author describes it perfectly but I encourage you to google it. It’s called Saint-Malo, in northwestern France. It’s a dream place! I’m somehow imune to the charm of France but I think I would like to visit that city.

I don’t want to give a lot away from this book so I’m not going to extend myself too much. This is a beautiful book and everyone should read it. It won the Pulitzer prize of 2015 and I hope it gets more attention, it honestly deserves it. I’m so thankful for the Book Network for picking this title as the read of month. Just imagine the awful ignorance of not knowing this beautiful treasure. I’m also glad that I’ve been trying to open up my horizons and read out of my comfort zone. This year is going so well for diverse readings! I hope I keep up with this because I’m surely going to remember a lot of these books I wouldn’t normally get to read.  Anyway, do yourself a favor and go pick up this title. You won’t regret it. I got it as an e-book but I’m going to get a physical copy soon (I hope).

Here’s one of my favourite quotes from this book (it was so hard to choose!):

We all come into existence as a single cell, smaller than a speck of dust. Much smaller. Divide. Multiply. Add and subtract. Matter changes hands, atoms flow in and out, molecules pivot, proteins stitch together, mitochondria send out their oxidative dictates; we begin as a microscopic electrical swarm. The lungs the brain the heart. Forty weeks later, six trillion cells get crushed in the vise of our mother’s birth canal and we howl. Then the world starts in on us.

I hope you liked this review! If you read this one, please let me know what you thought! Let’s share our loves! I hope to see you here soon.

Cat.

6 thoughts on “Book Review #28 – All The Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr

  1. I really liked this one, but I thought it was a little slow, which is why it took me forever to get through it. I thought the characters were great and the atmosphere was really nicely set up! Great review x

    Like

Leave a Reply

