Book Review #29 – We Should All Be Feminists, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Hello guys!

Today’s review is about another non-fiction book that I had in my TBR pile for a long time! Let’s talk about We Should All Be Feminists, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

Find any edition of this book over at Book Depository

_MG_2761

_MG_2764

 I included this book in a previous list of feminist books I really wanted to read. In the meanwhile, I got a chance to get it and I’m very glad I did.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is an nigerian writer. She has won several prizes for her fiction books, including the most popular one, called Americanah, and is known as one of the main writers broadening the new audience of african literature. If you’re like me, maybe you only got to know her for her sample in “***Flawless”, a song by Beyoncé. Being feminism the main topic of that song, so it is used some moments of the Adichie’s TED talk on the subject.

That speech is exactly what can be found in this book. It’s not abridged, it only contains the most important and relevant moments. The author guides us through several situations of her life, how she dealt with them and what she learned.

I ended this book feeling angry and somehow thankful. Angry because it’s sickening how there’s still places in the world where a woman needs to be accompanied by a man to enter in a club. Thankful (and maybe egotistic) because I’m fortunate to live in a country where that doesn’t happen. It’s so sad how these women have to live their life depending on others, how they are afraid to be themselves because they fear judgment. This makes me want to continue and become even more active about women’s rights. It all seems utterly unfair.

Besides the somewhat gloom subject, Adichie never fails to be funny. She’s always in a good mood and trying to make her audience laugh.  It’s such a nice and light read and very educational either way.  When this book ended, I just wanted to talk more with the author. She seems so approachable and kind. Definitely friend material and, most of all, inspirational human.

This seems to be a very cool book for anyone who is just getting into feminism or wants to be more informed about it and what it stands for. It was also so fun waiting for the parts that Beyoncé used in her song! I know those by heart (even though some are a bit different in the book). Anyway, go pick this book! It has some beautiful editions and it’s super fun and educative.

Here’s one of my favourite parts:

At some point I was a Happy African Feminist Who Does Not Hate Men and Who Likes to Wear Lip Gloss and High Heels for Herself and Not For Men.

Well, my next few reviews will probably consist of graphic novels since I read like three in the last two days! I hope to see you then!

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Book Review #29 – We Should All Be Feminists, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Leave a Reply

