Graphic Novel/Manga Review #11 – Rat Queens Vol.1, Sass & Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wiebe and Roc Upchurch

Hello readers!

Today’s review is about my most recent love: Rat Queens! I’m going to talk about volume 1, Sass & Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wiebe and Roc Upchurch.

rat-queens-vol-01-releases

Find this book over at Book Depository

Oh god where do I even start? This book has been in my TBR pile for a very long time (haven’t they all?). I mean, a group of badass women in a medieval fantasy setting? Yes, please! Since NetGalley was providing the second volume, I thought it was time to pick up the first and finally read this thing!

The Rat Queens are an adventurous party composed by: Hannah (elven mage), Violet (dwarven warrior), Dee (human atheist runaway) and Betty (halfling thief). They are sassy, fierce and kind of problematic! In this volume, the group tries to find out who is the black ninja that is trying to kill every adventure group in town and who sent him.

My favourite Rat Queen is Dee because she’s the one I relate to the most. She doesn’t like booze and party as much as the others, she preferes the company of a good book. I love her! But honestly, I love them all. They are so fun and strong. Amazing role models, each in their own special way. The story line was pretty simple and easy but that didn’t bother me too much. The personalities of the girls stole the show. For a first volume, the book doesn’t explain much of the  characters past. We are dropped in a middle of their lives and everything we learn is purely by chance. No flashbacks or anything like it.

RatQueens_01_02_final

Besides, the art is beautiful. It’s a bit comic book-y but it’s gorgeous either way. There’s this misconception that medieval times were all brown and dark greens (I guess this comes mostly from LOTR) but this world is nothing like that. It’s incredibly colourful and full of colours you weren’t totally expecting, like blues, pinks and purples. Besides, all the characters are different and completely distinct of them all, which is super important in a world with so many different species. Every orc, dwarf or person is very different from the other one. It adds a little something to the story.

This book has everything I love: badass ladies, magical beings and the right amount of violence and sex. I guess this is why I loved it so much. It mixes what I love the most and it comes out as a perfect end result. That’s what I’m going to use to describe this graphic novel: perfect! I think it’s definitely my favourite graphic novel so far (and one of the favs of the year!).

Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 20.35.28

I already read the second volume and I’m even more in love with the Rat Queens but I’ll leave that to another day! You should all pick up this title because it’s freaking amazing. If you read it already, please talk to me about it because I want to discuss some things!

The amount of posts may decline in the next month since it’s the last of the semester. Things are starting to cramp up but I’ll do my best to keep you updated! Anyway, I hope to see you next time!

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Graphic Novel/Manga Review #11 – Rat Queens Vol.1, Sass & Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wiebe and Roc Upchurch

Leave a Reply

