ARC | Graphic Novel/Manga Review #12 – October Faction Vol.1, by Steve Niles and Damien Worm

Hello lovelies!

Today’s review is about an amazing freaky titles! It’s October Faction, Vol.1 by Steve Niles and Damien Worm.

OctoberFaction_V01_COV

Pre-order this title on Book Depository

First of all, story time! Me and my classmates usually do a secret Santa gift exchange. Last Christmas, my friend got me the first issue of October Faction. I’ve never heard of it but I was instantly drawn by the beautiful illustrations. I loved my gift, since I absolutely love monsters and supernatural stories (even thought I don’t read much about that genre, more TV shows). But, I didn’t read the issue right away. Simply because I can’t deal with reading a story through issues. I’m so curious, I just want a big chunk of story to read in one sitting. My friend even got a bit sad since he thought I didn’t like the gift (which in totally untrue). While I was browsing NetGalley the other day, I found that the first volume of October Faction was available! What a wonderful coincide. I couldn’t believe that I was finally able to read the whole thing! Anyway this also serves as a disclaimer since all the photos below are from issue #1.

_MG_2766October Faction follows the story of the Allan family, which is composed of a retired monster hunter, a thrill-killer, a witch and a warlock! They struggle to stick together and fight whatever evil that comes to haunt them. In this volume, they try to deal with some internal family problems and the threat of a robot humanoid.

This first volume is totally predictable in the sense that it spends a lot of time exposing the family and their past. That doesn’t make anything more boring. Every single person in this story is incredibly fascinating. You just want to know more about them and why they are the way they are. I’m pretty obsessed with them. The little plot is also interesting but the characters steal the whole show!

_MG_2768

Although, my favourite part was the art! Oh my it’s so beautiful. Sometimes it’s hard to understand all that it’s happening in the stripes since it’s so dark. It’s amazing either way! It looks almost like an intricate sketch at times. The color pallet is mostly black, brown and reds but sometimes there’s full panels with other predominant colours like blues and greens. It was very refreshing to read something so different, in every way.

_MG_2771If you like supernatural stories, this is the book for you! It has great characters and amazing story lines. The monsters are pretty terrifying but the art style makes them beautiful. I’m actually pretty excited to read vol. 2. This one doesn’t really end with a cliff-hanger of something similar but you just want to know more about the characters and whatever mess they put themselves in.

I binge-read this in just one sitting so you know it was exciting and fun! You can pre-order the title in the link about or you can wait for the TBP to come out in August. If not, maybe your local comic book store still has the issues! This wasn’t the most popular title from IDW, at least from what I’ve heard (even though I don’t quite understand why, since I found this so good!).

Anyway, a big thank you to my secret Santa for getting me the first issue otherwise I don’t think I would have picked this title on NetGalley! If you’ve read this or are interested in do so, please let me know in the comments!

Thank you for reading and I hope to see you around!

Cat.

4 thoughts on “ARC | Graphic Novel/Manga Review #12 – October Faction Vol.1, by Steve Niles and Damien Worm

Leave a Reply

