May Book Haul

Hello guys!

It’s time that time of the month! Here are the books I got in May.

_MG_2810

  • The Knife Of Never Letting Go, by Patrick Ness

_MG_2812

Find different editions of this book over at Book Depository (You won’t be able to find this particular one on the website)

I can’t believe I finally hopped on the Patrick Ness train! After so many months of hearing about his books, I picked up the first title in The Chaos Walking Trilogy. I wanted this edition specifically because, dear lord, just look at it! It looks shattered (!!!) (I guess it will have something to do with the book itself?), with all the letters and images looking divided. There’s also a shinny coat in just a few sections, which makes the shatter effect even more evident!

All I know about this book is that it is dystopian where everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts. It follows the story of a boy, Todd and his dog, Manchee.

  • The Old Man and the Sea (pt. O Velho e o Mar), by Ernest Hemingway

_MG_2811

Find a selection of editions of this book over at Book Depository

I read this book through a copy borrowed from a friend in the beginning of last year (if I’m not mistaken). Ever since I’ve been trying to get a copy for myself but absolutely refused to pay the retail price (which is always about 9€ for 130 pages). Don’t you think I’m cheap: I’m just really poor. Anyway, I finally found a second hand copy for 2€ and I couldn’t be happier! The portuguese edition has beautiful illustrations in the inside, I’ll show them when I re-read and review the book!

This one tells the story of Santiago, an old fisherman that, after months of not catching not even one fish, struggles against one for four days and then looses it.

  • I Am The Messenger, by Markus Zusak

_MG_2814

Find any edition of this book over at Book Depository

Last but not least, there’s a book I got from a friend. A few days ago I got a package from Simone with this lovely book and a handmade bookmark (I’m planning on a bookmark special post so stay tuned)! It was one of the most beautiful gestures someone ever done for me. I’m very thankful for my friends.

I don’t want to know much about it. All I can say is that I think it is about a cabdriver that stops a bank robbery. After that, he starts getting playing cards and becomes the messenger. It all sounds very ambiguous but I would like to keep it that way.

Anyway, these were all the books I got in May. I’m very excited for all of them! Let’s hope I get a chance to read them soon enough! If you did read any of these already, let me know what you thought of them!

Cat.

5 thoughts on “May Book Haul

  1. OH MY GOD, CAT, YOU GOT THE KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO! Aaaaaah! I’m so excited. Please don’t be frightened, I get excited when anybody anywhere gets this book. 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 Excuse me while I go away xD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

