Book Review #30 – To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Hey guys!

Today’s review is about the title from my first Read Along. Let’s talk about To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han.

15749186 (1)

Find any edition of this book over at Book Depository

I picked up this title because I was invited to host a giveaway on Tumblr for it and I was actually pretty curious to read it! Besides a POC (person of colour) main character, it is said that it has a realistic portrait of teenage romance. It definitely got me curious!

Lara Jean has a particular way to deal with moving on from a crush: she writes a letter to all the boys, pouring her heart and feelings into the pages, seals the envelop and never sends them. She keeps all five letters (so far) in a hat box, given by her mother. One day, all the letters get send! To avoid the embarrassment of kind of mutual feelings for a guy (who is her sister’s ex), Lara Jean starts a fake relashionship with a past crush!

There was a lot of things that I liked about this, and other that I did not.

I never experienced a family like the Song-Convey. Some may say they are unrealistic but, to be honest,  family goals right there. They are so tight and loving. I love how they keep and respect all the Korean traditions, even after Mrs. Song (the mother) died. I never read a fiction book with such a gorgeous portrait of what life must be outside a total western europe/american family. (Also, I need to read more books with POC characters because learning about other cultures is fascinating!).

I absolutely loved Lara Jean. She is fun, quirky and, above all, real. She’s just like every teenager, and yet so singular. She’s a girly girl and a dork at heart. We have our differences, specially when it comes to romance but I think we would be great friends. In fact, I love all the characters, specially Peter Kavinsky (Lara Jean’s pretend boyfriend) and Kitty (her sister). The one I really didn’t like was Josh (the original crush). He tries to completely control Lara Jean’s life and uses the “I’m just looking after you” lame excuse. It made me so irritated and it sounded like a typical guy excuse. As soon as a his crush starts to like another person, he suddenly is so interested and caring. All the interventions from Josh were mostly based on that and it made everything obnoxious and frustrating. Just move on with your life dude. I could never deal with a person acting like that so I guess that’s why it got under my skin the most.

That’s one of the main things I didn’t like but it wasn’t the most problematic one. I found the story so utterly predictable. As soon as the main plot got revealed, I already knew how it was going to end. That doesn’t make me super intelligent: I’ve just seen this story over and over again. The only thing I didn’t predict was who sent the letters. I give Han a point for that.

The writing style is very lovely and entertainment. It was a fun and quick read. I don’t see the point of making a sequel to this plot but I don’t know whatever Han has more in store besides the resolution of the main problem: Peter or Josh.

If you enjoy YA romances, you’ll love this one, so I highly recommend it! If you read this, remember that the second volume, PS. I Still Love You is already out! I’m still making my way through romances and my feelings for them. I honestly think that, for me, the mood I’m in when I read it really determines if I like it or not. I’m not romantic at all so maybe that’s just the main problem. I hope all the reads I’m going through  this year really helps me make a serious conclusion.

The read along didn’t go as planed but I’m glad I got a chance to organize it because it was a different experience and I always enjoy those.

Anyway, please let me know if you read this title or want to! You know I love to hear your opinions! I hope to hear more from you soon!

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Book Review #30 – To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Leave a Reply

