Graphic Novel/Manga Review #13 – Rat Queens Vol.2, The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’rygoth by Kurtis J. Wiebe, Roc Upchurch and Stjepan Sejic

Hello guys!

Today’s review is a follow up to a previous one! I’ll talk about my opinion on Rat Queens Vol.2, The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’rygoth by Kurtis J. Wiebe, Roc Upchurch and Stjepan Sejic.

RatQueensV2_Cover

Find this book on Book Depository

Before starting this review, let me just say that you can find my review for volume one, Sass & Sorcery, also here on my blog. Also, this is spoiler free even though it’s a second volume of a series.

Quick summary: the Rat Queens are an adventurous party in a medieval/fantasy world composed of an elf, a dwarf, a human and a halfling. They are loud, funny and messy and put themselves in a lot of trouble constantly.

The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’rygoth has the principal plot of an invasion of god N’rygoth, a giant sky squid. But this isn’t the main story: most of the length book is spent in telling a bit more about the past of each Rat Queen, which volume one did not do at all. We learn a lot about who they are and what made them that way.

I read volume two through an advanced copy provided by NetGalley. As soon as I finished the first one, I was totally in love. Since there was more content I could read, I just  had to read it immediately. So, I read the two volumes in one sitting, during the same day. Let me just say that the hungover was fucked.

I love everything about the Rat Queens. They all have fascinating personalities and backgrounds. They’re so different and yet work perfectly well together. There’s inside drama but none like the ones you’ll see in typical all female groups. All the girls love each other and work together for the greater good, not only for the party but also for the world. My favourite is still Dee, since she seems to have a bigger role in the end-game of the saga. I’m not trying to underestimate any of the characters, don’t get me wrong. I love them all more than life.

The story isn’t much special, since it’s actually very short if you take out the flashbacks. That doesn’t make the book any worse. The characters and the fights make this stories, and this is my favourite thing. I love all the sex, violence and ocasional parties.

I cannot wait for more volumes! I love these characters and these fun stories so much. I’m excited to know more. It’s a shame the next volumes is like one year away. If you like medieval fantasy stories with humor, go pick this up now!! You’ll absolutely love this. If you read volume one or two, please let me know what you though! I don’t know any one who read this yet!

Thank you for reading and I hope to see you here soon!

Cat.

Leave a Reply

