Unpopular Opinions Tag

Hello guys!

I was recently tagged by lovely Aimal from Bookshelves & Paperbacks in the most perfect tag for me. I’m the queen of unpopular opinions! Here they are!

bannetag-unpopular

1. A popular book or series you didn’t like.9780141357034

I hated All The Bright Places. You can know more about my opinion in here. In summary, I think it poorly deals with the topics of depression and suicide. Besides, don’t you dare pretend that killing yourself or dealing with the death of a loved one is lovely. I could rant about this book the rest of the night.

2. A popular book or series that everyone seems to hate, but you love. Life_of_Pi_cover

I’ve seen so much hate for Life Of Pi! I absolutely loved it though. The message is very important and the writing is beautiful. I’ve been postponing my review for it in a while because I’m afraid it will be somehow polemic. I’ve heard people accusing this book of being self-centric and pretentious. All I know is that it touched me a lot when I read it.

3A love triangle where the main character ended up with the pMockingjayerson you did NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP that you don’t like.

I really don’t like Katniss and Peeta. Honestly, all the love triangle in The Hunger Games is really terrible and forced and I just wanted for Katniss to be left single and happy but nah. Anyway, if they had to pair her with someone, at least it would’ve been better with Gale and not Mr. Peeta Bread.

4. A popular book genre that you hardly reach for.

Historical fiction doesn’t really speak to me. I’ve only read about three books of that genre and I love them all dearly but whenever I’m looking for new books, I don’t usually fall into that section.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.harry-potter-1

I’m going to go with Harry Potter. I don’t really like his character. He bored me to death and it’s a bit winy, at least from what I remember. I don’t really like the series too, which is a bit of an unpopular opinion in a whole other level.

6A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.franz

There’s not an author I hate most than Franz Kafka. Every single one of his books leave me with a terrible taste in my mouth and I struggle completely to even get to the end of the books. Many of my favourite authors have him as their main inspiration and I honestly don’t understand.

7A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.).

Definitely love triangles. They’re mostly unreal and totally unnecessary. This is the main reason why I avoided romance books for such a long time. Now that I’m back I know that there’s a lot of romances without that but there’s always a tiny bit of love triangles and that needs to stop.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.City_of_Bones

I never got the slight interest in The Mortal Instrument Series. The plot doesn’t appeal to me, at all. I’ve seen the movie and that honestly got me even less interested. I think I will watch the TV series but we’ll see how I end up feeling about that. Besides, there’s way too many books related to the series itself or other plots in that same universe.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what coraline_xlgmovie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

I absolutely loved the book Coraline but I think the movie is a bit better. Henry Selick is one of my idols and his works are masterpieces that don’t get the love they deserve. Although I appreciate Neil Gaiman just as much, the adaptation is incredibly beautiful and it takes the story to the next step.

I honestly don’t know who to tag. If you usually like these things, please let me know and I would include you in a next tag! (Or I’ll just edit this one and put you here!) I just don’t want to make anyone feel obliged to do something! Anyway, please tell me some of your unpopular opinions and if you agree with mine!

See you next time,

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Tag

Leave a Reply

