ARC | Graphic Novel/Manga Review #14 – Powerpuff Girls: Super Smash-Up

Hello guys!

Get ready for a trip down memory lane! I’m going to talk about Powerpuff Girls: Super Smash-Up by a variety of authors.PPG01

Pre-order this book on Book Depository

When I found this title in NetGalley, all of what was left of little young Cat stuck inside of me went crazy! I was obsessed with Cartoon Network when I was a kid. Even though there was no subtitles or dubs, I always understood what the cartoons were about. Besides, most the english I know now is due to what I’ve learned all those years back. Ehe memories coming back to me are so sweet and wonderful, they are probably my favourite.

Anyway, that’s mostly the reason why I picked up this title. This little story starts when the Powerpuff Girls and Professor Utonium visit Dexter’s Laboratory. There Dee Dee, Dexter’s sister, trips and comes into contact with a strange substance that turns her into a green monster. With all the gadgets available in the lab, she ends up being transported from dimension to dimension, causing a lot of trouble. The Powerpuff Girls have then the job of saving her and all the different universes.

We revisit not only the characters from Powerpuff Girls and Dexter’s Laboratory but also those from Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends, Courage The Cowardly Dog, Cow and Chicken, The Grim Adventures of Billy and Mandy and from more recent shows like Camp Lazlo (which I’ve never seen). I was a bit disappointed that not all the characters on the cover were actually in the book.

Besides the main plot, there’s a few little smaller stories with just the characters from a certain show. The stories aren’t that amazing. They follow the lines of the tv shows so they are simple and a bit childish. There’s a constant effort for humor and entertainment. So, this is a fun read. Certainly,  a good escape from reality that me, in my adult life, don’t have that much. The style of the drawings vary a little bit from story to story but that isn’t a bother: it only makes everything more fun and exciting.

There isn’t a lot to add to this book. It was a fun read and definitely a good trip down memory lane. That factor plays a big part in who will pick this up but that doesn’t have to be a bad thing. I don’t know about other people but we Portuguese are very nostalgic. So, any type of thing that can make me revisit some old memories is going to have a special place in my heart.

So, if nostalgia rocks your boat (like it does to mine), you’ll love this little read. Fun it’s its middle name!

Anyway, did you love Cartoon Network? Do you still love it? As a wannabe animator, that company holds the position of my dream job. Working there would be the most amazing experience. But I’m getting off topic! Please let me know what you think!

I hope you had fun and that we can see each other again soon.

Cat.

5 thoughts on “ARC | Graphic Novel/Manga Review #14 – Powerpuff Girls: Super Smash-Up

  1. I read this one as well, it was pretty good wasn’t it:D! I thought it was neat they included all of the old school characters into this edition, really filled it out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

