Graphic Novel/Manga Review #15 – Blue Is The Warmest Color, by Julie Maroh

Hello guys!

Today’s review is on a different graphic novel than what I usually read. It’s Blue Is The Warmest Color, by Julie Maroh. _MG_2848

Find any edition of this book over at Book Depository

I got this book a few months ago, when I won it  in a giveway. It’s been siting in my shelves since then and I never got the will to pick it up because I knew how sad it would be. After a terrible week of anxieties, I woke up extremely early and decided to spend my morning reading it. Besides the hole in my heart after, I think I made a good decision.

Blue Is The Warmest Color is a story about Clémentine, a teenage girl, whose life is completely changed when she locks eyes with a beautiful, blue haired and fascinating lady called Emma. After that, she starts to question her sexuality and who she really is.

According to the little bio in the back of this book, Julie Maroh is a writer and illustrator from Northern France. She’s been drawing comics since the age of eight and decided to pursue her love through her academic life. This book was her first success, winning several awards and being adapted to the big screen (which on its own won the Palme D’Or at the Cannes Film Festival). _MG_2851 As you might have noticed from my previous graphic novel reviews, french comics aren’t really what I’m into. I mean, I really like Blacksad but that’s it. It never really interested me. Besides that, this didn’t seem like the typical french comic. The topic, of homosexuality, isn’t really something I read about (even though I have absolutely no problem with that). Anyway, this graphic novel really caught my attention for a bunch of different reasons. I picked it up in a store one day and the illustrations just seemed to come to life. I had to read it.

This story broke my heart. I can’t imagine what it feels like to repress who you are because you know you won’t be accepted by the people closer to you. The story is set in the 1990’s but unfortunately I’m sure there’s tons and tons of people around the world that suffer from the same issues still. Excluding this, it is a beautiful love story. Being completely in love with someone, even when everyone else seems to tell you it’s wrong, must feel amazing in a whole new level.

I absolutely loved the art. In the beginning, everything is in shades of brown. After a while, a few blue details start to appear. After Clémentine and Emma start to be together, everything is in colour. Its meaning is obvious but it’s a fun and lovely detail. _MG_2849 There’s a lot of explicit content and nudity. Don’t let that fool you though: this is a lovely story. A beautiful and devastating love story. A love that can break a lot of barriers but unfortunately not all. If you’ve been through a break up or heart ache recently, stay away from this book! It won’t help you. Even so, please get the courage to pick this title eventually.

I loved everything about this. The illustrations, the beautiful love story and even how the writing passes from cursive to print. True love doesn’t have to be between a girl and a boy and it doesn’t have to last forever. All that matters is that it was real and beautiful.

_MG_2850

If the book scares you for some reason, I would also recommend the movie. There’s a few different changes that I don’t really understand why they were made but it’s a gorgeous movie nevertheless. Just be aware of the long sex scene, if you’re sensitive to that kind of stuff.

Anyway, have you read this? If so, what did you think of it? Let me know please!

I hope to see you soon!

Cat.

4 thoughts on “Graphic Novel/Manga Review #15 – Blue Is The Warmest Color, by Julie Maroh

Leave a Reply

