Book Review #34 – Never Let Me Go, by Kazuo Ishiguro

Hey guys!

Here’s my review for a long awaited read. Today’s title is Never Let Me Go, by Kazuo Ishiguro.

Find any edition of this book over at Book Depository

_MG_2852

_MG_2853I’ve watched the movie adaptation for this book a long, long time ago, when I was first getting into movies. I had no idea it was an adaptation. I don’t remember much from the movie, other that I really liked it. So, I went to this book kind of blind but not at all.

It tells the story of Kathy, Tommy and Ruth. They all grew up in an institution, where everyone is made to believe they are special individuals. The main goal of that place is to prepare their students for their process as organ donors.

Kazuo Ishiguro is a british writer, of japanese origins.  His works, novels, short stories and screen plays, have been internationally appraised. Three of his stories have been adapted to cinema. His most recent work just got published this year, ten years after his last (which is the title I’m going to talk about in this review).

Let me just start by saying this book was a let down. I’m not quite sure what my expectations were but they didn’t meet with what I later read.

I found the story incredibly boring. For a story set in a dystopian world, there was little to no explanation to it. Maybe I’m a product of the Hunger Games generation, where I need every bloody detail about the messed up world these characters live in. Everything was focused on those three characters and how their relate to one another. Matter of fact, the only parts that I did like were the few bits that explained a little more about how the world worked and the whole donation system.

The problem was that the characters weren’t even interesting. Everything is told through Kathy and she is honestly such a drag. Not even the details that were supposed to make her “special” really mattered. This happens with every character, which makes them mostly one dimensional and completely not appealing.

What really annoyed me was how the narrator lost herself with events prior to the story. Sometimes she would start talking about something but then remembers about another thing and spends a few lines talking about that until she decides to turn back to the main plot. The prose is full of “anyway”, “as I was saying”, “I guess I wandered off a bit”, “back to my point”, etc. After a while it became so frustrating! Like please get on with the story, girl…

Well, I didn’t care for anything on this book to be honest. I’ve only read it in hopes it would get better (spoiler alert: it didn’t). Neither the setting or the characters fascinated me in the slightest. I have to watch the movie again but I think I prefer it to the book (which doesn’t happen that often).

I wouldn’t recommend this book. I don’t understand the hype around it. I’m still curious to know more about the author’s work, maybe the other books aren’t like this one? Or maybe this isn’t the best example of his work? Anyway, I always try to read at least two books from an author, even if I didn’t quite like the first.

If you read this one, tell me what you though please! If you enjoyed it, I ask you even more to tell me because I’m honestly curious!

Hope to see you around next time!

Cat.

4 thoughts on “Book Review #34 – Never Let Me Go, by Kazuo Ishiguro

  1. I read this a long time ago and liked it a lot. Sorry it didn’t work for you. I liked the way the book built up before finally revealing the true “nature” of the characters. I also felt an existentialist sadness throughout the book, which made sense because the characters’ purpose was at the center of the book. This could have been a science fiction book, but I liked the fact that it wasn’t written that way. My two cents(:

    Like

Leave a Reply

