Graphic Novel/Manga Review #16 – Young Avengers, Vol. 1: Style > Substance, by Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie

Hey guys!

It’s time for another graphic novel review! Today’s topic is the first volume of Young Avengers: Style > Substance, by Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie.

gillenyoungavengersstyleFind any edition of this comic over at Book Depository

This title has been in my radar for several reasons. Firstly, the creative team is composed of the same people who created The Wicked + The Divine (we all know how much I loved that). Secondly, the team is super diverse!  Two ladies, an alien, a kid and a gay couple. Who doesn’t love diversity?! Too cool.

Style > Substance is a new pick up on a different team of Avengers, called Young Avengers. This new run has some of the original members, like Wiccan, Hulkling and Hawkeye as well as new ones, like Miss America, Kid Loki and Marvel Boy. In this first volume, Wiccan (Billy) brings back from another dimension the dead mother of his boyfriend Teddy (Hulkling). The problem is, that’s not really his mother but instead a monster that eats parents. Crazy, right? Anyway, the team gets together to save not only themselves but the world.

This book was really refreshing. There was tons of different types of panels, the color palette so bright and the characters just amazing. It has everything that I loved in The Wicked + The Divine and plus, super-heroes. In summary, it was a different take on an amazing formula created by this incredible team.

There were a few things I didn’t understand really well and had to search online. Mostly, I was confused by Kid Loki. As you may know Loki is the infamous brother of Thor, and like him, he’s in his late-twenties (I know they’re gods and immortal but you get the point). So, it was weird to see him as a kid since I had to idea why that happened. It was one of the things that I kept in the back of my mind while reading it and it annoyed me so much I had to pause my read and search about it online.

But that’s pretty much the only down point I have to give to this comic. It’s such a fun and easy read. I loved Miss America and I can’t wait to read more about her. Since she’s new, I don’t know a lot about her but I definitely want to. Billy and Teddy were also the cutest couple ever. The book made a good job in presenting the characters but unfortunately, some of them needed more time for me to understand if I care for them or not. Also, a thousand thumbs up for the incredible diversity.

There’s only another two volumes on this series, because it was abruptly cancelled. I hope someone has the dignity to pick this up again but on the other hand, I still wish it were Gillen and McKelvie’s baby. Anyway, I’ll read the next volumes and let you know what I though, like usual.

I’ll leave you with my favourite panel. I know it’s hard to read (I can’t find good pictures of it) but you get the point!

Screen Shot 2015-06-23 at 23.03.31

See you next time!

Cat.

Leave a Reply

