Graphic Novel/Manga Review #17 – Saga, Volume Three by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Hello guys!

It’s time for another review on Saga! Here’s volume three.

_MG_2924 Find any edition of this book at Book Depository

Before starting this review, I highly recommend the read of my reviews for volume one and volume two of the same series.

So, as you may know or not, this story has three main plot lines:

  • Alana and Marko, two lovers in a Juliet and Romeo style, who are fugitives because their love is considered a crime and whose child is a threat to the universe;
  • The Will, a mercenary who is hired to find these two lovers and their daughter;
  • and Prince Robot IV, who is also trying to capture the fugitives.

In this particular volume, Alana and Marko travel the galaxy to know the author of the book that brought them together.

Oh man, can someone get sick of this series? I mean, three volumes in and I’m as excited as I was right at the beginning. The whole story is incredibly fascinating and so so exciting! Even the smaller stories are amazing, it’s unbelievable.

_MG_2927

Even though I love the plots, my favourite thing about Saga is the characters. They have so much depth and differences between them. Sometimes I actually forget I’m reading a comic book and not experiencing these people in real life. They absolutely pop up from the pages. My favourite right now is Gwendolyn (in the picture above). There were some new characters introduced in this volume, and it makes me even more excited to know there’s going to be a lot of new stuff in the next paperback! There’s an old favourite of mine that came back, which I was pretty happy about it (even though it wasn’t quite what I expected)!

_MG_2925

Vaughan’s writing is once again flawless. But what will always be the most amazing thing about this series, to me, is the character design and the beautiful panels. Staples is an incredibly artist and the only reason why I want to read the new run of Archie since she’s involved. There’s no one quite talented working in this industry at the moment and I hope her success just keeps growing and growing.

This was honestly my favourite volume so far. I liked volume two but I wasn’t blown by it. After this one, I’m really really excited again. Saga is the perfect combination of aliens, space opera, sex and violence. There’s a lot of weird stuff going on but I couldn’t love it more, even if I wanted.

I really feel like the story is going to seriously get exciting from now on and I cannot wait to read more and more. Man, I wish all volumes would just come out already! The anticipation is real!

_MG_2926

Before I go, I just want to talk about something. I’m trying as hard as I can to do spoiler free reviews for sequels but the more I do them, the more I start to realize how hard it is to speak about something without getting into a lot of details, that come not only from the book I’m talking about but also to the previous ones. Anyway, please let me know what you think it’s better, to do spoiler free reviews for sequels or not.

I hope you enjoyed this review! See you next time,

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Graphic Novel/Manga Review #17 – Saga, Volume Three by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Leave a Reply

