Book Review #42 – The Lightning Thief, by Rick Riordan

Hey guys!

I recently started a new series! Here’s my review for the first instalment in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, The Lightning Thief, by Rick Riordan.

_MG_3039

Find any edition of this book on Book Depository

I honestly don’t know why I didn’t read this book or any of the others sooner. I quite liked the movie when it came out (not that much now) and, honestly, greek mythology was always something I really liked. After a bit of research, I found out that my library has all the volumes so it seemed like the perfect time!

Percy Jackson is a boy from New York City. All his life, he has struggled with school since he has dyslexia and possibly ADD. One day, his math teacher turns into an ugly monster and tries to kill him. That’s only the beginning of the story. Percy finds out he’s half god and his other relatives have a big mission planned for him.

Unfortunately, the poor translation job in this edition left me with a bad taste on my month since page one. It completely turned me off and it reminded me why I’ve slowly stopped reading translated books. After a while, I finally got used to it but it still pained my heart from now and then.

Otherwise, this book was not what I expected! In a good way! I thought it would be so predictable and cheesy, how unfortunately a whole lot of fantasy YA books tend to be. I was fooled once or twice which feel awesome. More often than not, all the twists and turns of some books can be seen from a mile away. Not with this one.

This was the first time in a while that I finished a book and actually felt that I learned a whole lot. I’ve always liked greek mythology but I lost touch with it many, many years ago. It was nice to actually put down this book and search more about the creatures, monsters, gods and weapons. Not that you have to do that, everything is explained well enough. But it’s nice to learn more details.

The character were all lovely. They each were very different and I loved how their traits (either of monster or demigod) were incorporated in their personalities. Annabeth is amazing and probably my favourite. I’ve always loved Athena (I think she even has some relations with my zodiac sign. Not that I really believe in those things). The writing is also really fast paced and funny, which makes this read totally pleasant and entertaining.

After finishing this book I didn’t really feel like I absolutely needed to read the other four books. I mean, if you want to discover how everything will ends you surely do. What I’m trying to say is that it will leave you totally satisfied. But I most certainly will continue this series.

The Lightening Thief was a completely pleasant surprise and I’m only sad it took me so much time to pick it up! I hope I can still finish all the series before the end of the year! New goal! If you like greek mythology or if you feel like you should know more about it, do yourself a favour and go buy this book right now! In case you already read it, please let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Thank you for reading! See you next time,

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Book Review #42 – The Lightning Thief, by Rick Riordan

  1. Greek mythology is my passion so I don’t know why I haven’t read this book yet. I hope you will be able to read the books in English next time as you had a hard time liking the translation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

