ARC | Graphic Novel/Manga Review #19 – Teen Titans, Vol. 1: Blinded by the Light by Will Pfeifer and Kenneth Rocafort

Hello guys!

Today’s review is about another DC title! It’s Teen Titans: Blinded by the Light, by Will Pfeifer and Kenneth Rocafort.

Teen_Titans_Vol_5_1

Find this book on Book Depository

While I was browsing NetGalley for new titles, I came across this comic. I’ve heard a lot of good things about the animated series of this team but I never actually seen it. I had nothing to lose so I picked it up.

This title follows a superhero team composed of only teenagers. They are: Wonder Girl, Raven, Bunker, Beast Boy and Red Robin. Like previous DC books I’ve read, this one is also separated in two different storylines. In the first, their threat is a beautiful robot humanoid lady and in the second is a group of terrorists. Both are trying to take down a company called S.T.A.R. Labs.

I’ve come to realize that I really love superheroes team up comics. They’re always so much fun to read. You don’t get the best insight in all the characters but there’s a lot of good details about everyone. I loved the girls in this team. Raven always had my attention even though there’s not a lot of her in this (which disappointed me). A surprise was Wonder Girl. I’m really turned off by her looks. The overly sexual suit, those almost-peeking-out boobs and the blonde hair aren’t really my thing. But she’s a badass! She’s really powerful and takes no shit from anyone. Also, the team is really diverse. Besides the girls I talked about, it features an alien, a latino boy (who is also gay I think) and another boy with no real super powers. Nothing’s better than good representation amiright?

I loved the robot android villain from the first part of the book. Her character design was flawless and she was pretty cool. I didn’t really care for any other characters to be honest. Every time that one was introduced in a new chapter, their names would popped up in a yellow bubble. I wanted to punch something. It’s not like I forgot how all these people are in the matter of 20 pages! So annoying.

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 21.42.23

The style of the art changes in the middle of the book and I didn’t quite get why that happened. It was beautiful though. The other art was pretty forgetful but still better that in most DC titles I’ve read.

Besides everything good, this comic didn’t really stick with me. I liked it but I didn’t found it anything special. It was a fun and interesting read but that’s it. Have you read it yet? Or any other Teen Titans titles? Also, would you recommend the animated series? I’m looking for new things to see in general so any recs would be appreciated! 😀

Thank you for reading! See you next time.

Cat.

One thought on “ARC | Graphic Novel/Manga Review #19 – Teen Titans, Vol. 1: Blinded by the Light by Will Pfeifer and Kenneth Rocafort

Leave a Reply

