Book-To-Movie Adaptations! – Bad Edition #2

Hello guys!

It’s time for another bad edition of book-to-movie adaptations! Please enjoy!

bannermovie

Even when I was a wee little cinema lover, I knew this movie was a bad one. It had many flaws but the premise was really interesting. My friend had an edition of the three first books of this saga (corresponding with the events of the movie), so I’ve read them all. I remember just flying through the pages and absolutely loving it. I never got around to read the rest of the books but I still remember this saga as one of my favourites growing up. The movie is just an absolute disappointment, with bad acting and poor special effects.

The series follows Darren Shan, a boy who becomes a vampire and decides to change his life by joining a travelling circus company. I love how the main character is also the writer of this book. It makes everything more personal.

Gatsby_1925_jacket THE-GREAT-GATSBY-Poster The Great Gatsby is one of my favourite books of all time. It was the first big american classic that I’ve read and it’s making me read a lot more of that genre ever since. I was excited for this movie but I was pretty aware that it would probably suck really hard. And oh boy it did… It totally distorted the purpose of the book and it felt really fake. The only good things were the music and the sets.

This story is narrated by Nick Carraway, as he sees a love unfold between his cousin Daisy Buchanan and his neighbour Jay Gatsby. It’s a tale of illusion and falsehood of the Jazz Age.

  • The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, by Douglas Adams || Book Depository

Hitchhikers-Bk1-cover hitchhikers_guide_to_the_galaxy_xlgSince I first read it, this book has become one of my favourites. Never before I had such a strong reaction to a read. It made me laugh so hard in public. It’s of pure genius and creativeness and it made me fall even more in love with english humour. The problem was that completely lacked in the movie. The humour so characteristic to the story was completely bad delivered. Even my favourite character, Marvin the maniacally depressed robot was badly portrayed. Big big let down. They say the tv adaptation is better so I might give that a chance some day.

This story follows Arthur, who is dragged to a spacial adventure by his best friend when some company is trying to put down his house, while the whole planet is being invaded by big, green and ugly aliens.

I advise everyone to stay away from this movies but to run and read all of the books. They’re amazing and some of my all time favs. Have you read any of this titles? Or seen the movies? Let me know what you thought!

See you soon!

Cat.

Leave a Reply

