ARC | Book Review #49 – Lorali, by Laura Dockrill

Hello readers!

Here’s my review for my first ever mermaid book! It’s Lorali, by Laura Dockrill.

24910026

Buy this book from Book Depository

As a follower of the publications from Hot Key Books, I couldn’t have escaped all the promotion for this title. It was glorious, so much water and mermaid themed stuff! I never even thought of reading a book about mermaids because I honestly wasn’t aware that they existed but when I saw this, I was instantly drawn to it. Besides, all the photos I’ve seen from this beautiful book make me swoon. The cover has actual scales, with glitter! I had to read it!! Luckily, they made this tittle available on NetGalley and I was lucky enough to get approved for an ARC!

Laura Dockrill is a british author and this game is not unfamiliar to her. She has some other books out, including the Darcy Burdock series, for children. She’s also a poet and illustrator. Mostly she is known for her quirky outfits.

On the day of his sixteen birthday, british boy Rory finds a naked girl lying on the beach. He decides then to help her get out of there and get a hang of life but little did he know she’s actually Lorali, the most important mermaid princess, and also a runaway.

Let me just start this off by saying this book is kind of genius. It begins with this frantic one-word sentences of how it feels physically for Lorali to resurface. It’s beautiful and raw and chaotic, just like that must have felt like for the mermaid to suddenly grow legs and breath air. But that was just the first thing to impress me.

What blew me away the most was that there were POV chapters of the sea! And that’s not only cool af but it’s the most personality and sassiness I’ve seen attributed to an inanimate thing! Those chapters were my favourites because, although you end up just seeing the scene from the outside, there also seemed to be a special insight on everything going on. It was super unique and fun to read.

I had a few problems with the kindle version of this book so most of the times I couldn’t see the little title thingy separating each chapters POVs. But each one of them was different and particular from the others, making me not really miss anything. The writing style is peculiar and characteristic, you can almost feel the very essence of each character there. I didn’t find the characters that interesting in general but they were definitely diverse from each other.

I loved the whole mythology surrounding the mer, as they are called. Specially, I liked how it’s different from the one we know. I don’t want to say much about it because I find it spoilery but the most beautiful thing was how their tails, or tapestries, reflect who they are and what they like. All the details about their lives, present and past to the current events, were beautiful.

The story overall was a bit predictable and, like said before, none of the characters really stood out to me. But the most disappointing thing was the ending. I found it a bit confusing and not that coherent with how the story unfolds until then. And from what I’ve read, I’m not the only one thinking this. Because even though with all its flaws, this book could actually been incredible if only that ending was different. With all things considered, this books ends up just being good, which is a shame but not particularly a bad thing.

Anyway, I loved this book. Dockrill is most likely a genius. Living inside her mind must be a hell of a fun ride. I could never come up with the original things I’ve read in Lorali. And that’s what makes this special, that little extra and unique touch. I’m going to be recommending this to everyone I know because I feel like it’s quite an amazing introduction to mermaid books! Also, sign me in for more of Dockrill’s work because I’ll definitely going to be keeping my eye out for her.

Right now, I’m extra jealous of everyone who got a physical copy of this book and I cant wait to have my own and add it to my collection because it’s honestly one of the most beautiful things I’ve seen in my life! I need it right now!!

If you’ve read this book, let me know your thoughts on it!

See you soon,

Cat.

5 thoughts on “ARC | Book Review #49 – Lorali, by Laura Dockrill

Leave a Reply

