August Book Haul

Hey guys!

Oh god, I know this is long overdue but the mail man wasn’t kind to me this month… More of that ahead! Anyway, here’s all the new books I bought in August!

_MG_3695

  • Peter Pan, by J. M. Barrie

_MG_3701

Buy this from Book Depository

This title was a little surprise I found in a small local booksale. There were a lot of other classics there but I ended up buying this one because 1) I was meaning to buy it for a long time, 2) it had little illustrations inside.

Peter Pan became more of a part of my particular generation because of its Disney movie adaptation! It was one of my favourites growing up, actually. It tells the story of Peter Pan, a boy who can fly and never grows old, and his adventures in Neverland.

  • The Bone Season, by Samantha Shannon

_MG_3705

Find this on Book Depository

This year’s Comic Con Portugal has its own space dedicated to Literature. The first guest announced was Samantha Shannon. I wanted to read her series, The Bone Season, for a long time but the idea of meeting her in December made me rush the process. Plus, this first title had an almost 50% off discount on Book Depository so it all turned out perfect. The discount is still online, here is a link in case you’re interested in this edition.

This book is set in a not so distant future, where Paige works for a underworld criminal association, where she breaks into people’s minds to get information. It all changes when she’s kidnapped and taken to a city she never knew still existed.

  • Crown of Midnight, by Sarah J. Maas

_MG_3704

Buy any edition on Book Depository

Oh man I can’t believe I finally have it. Once again, I bought this book because Book Depository was having an incredible discount (not available anymore unfortunately). Why do they keep tempting me? I should ease on all the books I’m buying, but no way they’re letting me do that! Also, it was dramatic to get this book to arrive in my possession, to say the least. The mail man around here must be drunk or something and left this package about five blocks away from my street, in a  house that doesn’t even have the same number… I don’t understand but be sure that I’m going to complain. I was lucky that the man from that said house knows my street and contacted my family. Otherwise it would have been returned… To me it was a book but other people have lost medical appointments they’ve been waiting for months, deadlines of bills to pay and other important things. That’s just unacceptable.

Crown of Midnight is the second book in the Throne of Glass series. Here, we once again follow our favourite assassin, Celaena Sardothien, as she works for the King of Adarlan as his champion, which involves in killing a lot of people. I’m currently reading this and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for me!

So, this month I did buy some books but I think of succeeded in controlling myself a bit more. Money is tight and there’s a lot of things I need to save up for so that’s what’s happening right now. Anyway, I think I collected a few good titles this month, don’t you think? If you’ve read any of these, please let me know! I want to be prepared for what’s expecting me!

I hope you have a great day!

Cat.

2 thoughts on “August Book Haul

  1. OMG Cat!!! Samantha Shannon is brilliant, and UGH, I wish I get the chance to meet her! I hope you love TBS as much as I do, and I hope you get to see her. I shall try to contain my jealousy xD

    Like

Leave a Reply

