Book Review #50 – Crown of Midnight, by Sarah J. Maas

Hello guys!

It took me a while but I finally purchased Crown of Midnight and read it faster than I would probably run from a chasing lion… Anyway, here’s my review for the second instalment on the Thorne of Glass series, Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas.

Buy this title from Book Depository

_MG_3965

_MG_3968

For those who may not have heard of this series (I’m not sure how that’s even possible but moving on), Throne of Glass focus on the best assassin of her world, Celaena Sardothien. In the first volume, she enters a competition for a chance to become the King’s Champion. That means she has to do and eliminate whoever he tells her to but, after some years of service, finally wins her freedom back. In the second volume, we accompany her life as she serves the king and see some of her own secrets be unfold!

After loving the first book (review here) you can say that I was pretty excited to continue the series. I just wasn’t expecting to love it so much! Like I said, I read this book in a heartbeat. It amused me, kept me at the edge of my seat, made me smile and totally broke my heart. All in 418 pages!

This book had everything I felt lacked or didn’t have enough of in the first one. It is action packed, full of magic and more details on how badass Celaena is! I know I didn’t liked the magic in the first one but oh boy, how amazing it is in this one! It reminded me of how much I love fantasy novels, which I need to start reading more once again. No more romances! In the first book, I didn’t feel we got to see the real worth of Celaena and why she’s considered Adarlan’s best assassin. But in Crown of Midnight, she spends the whole time surrounded by daggers and swords, used with the craziest moves! She’s ruthless and you’re completely f-ed if you cross her.

Even though the pace of the book is quite slow in the beginning, it definitely turns itself around in the second half. At that point it’s just go go go! The writing is absolutely superb and I can tell Maas really stepped her game! The characters got a lot of new depth and development, which I cannot wait to see the consequences of in the next book. And I thought I couldn’t love Celeana more but look at us go! She’s so complex and her backstory keeps getting more and more interesting. God I love her so much.

The only thing I did not like was the romance. I hate the constant going back and forth between Dorian and Chaol. I love Chaol so much and Dorian is so nhe in comparison, I don’t really see how anyone could go with him. Is it the blue eyes? We need to stop romanticising blue eyes!

I finished this book a week ago and I’m still not ok. If you’ve read this book, you know what I’m talking about. That thing right in the middle of the story broke my heart and I don’t think I’ll ever get through it. And damn that last cliffhanger… GIMME BOOK THREE NOW! Thank god a friend has gotten it for me as an early birthday present because I don’t think I could have waited longer than a month to know more of Celaena’s adventures! The setting and events seem to be completely different in the next book so, aaahhh the excitement is real!

Here is my favourite quote:

But death was her curse and her gift, and death had been her good friend these long, long years

Anyway, have you read this? Should I buy a box of tissues in preparation for the next books? Help me protect my tiny little heart!

See you next time!

Cat.

Leave a Reply

