Throne of Glass is being optioned for TV!

Hello guys!

Let me warn you that this may not be the kind of post you’re expecting so, put your rant goggles on and join me on this!

bannerthrone

Yesterday, the author of the Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas, shared on Twitter that her books are being optioned for TV. For those who may not be familiar with the term, it means that theΒ seriesΒ had their copyrights bought and is being studied, by a studio and a production company, to comprehendΒ if it is adaptable or not. So, that means that ToG’s copyrights for TV no longer are possessed by the author and it’s not certain if it’s going to be really on tv but they’re thinking about it.

Ok, now let’s concentrate on that last part. Its not certain! Besides this piece of information, the whole fandom has gone berserk. Between discussions on whether it should be a tv show or a movie, casting options and even how it’s going to suck (thought they’ve seen nothing to justify that), I don’t even know what to think it’s the most ridiculous thing on this whole situation. I see no point in spending so much time and energy in something that, who knows, can never become anything more than words on the pages of a book! My Tumblr dashboard has been flooded with this since the announcement and it’s honestly mindblowing. But it’s not this is a thing exclusive to this fandom, because it is not!

Still, it’s something really beyond me. Why not just be content about the fact that ToG is catching attention outside the little book community?! Why not be happy for Sarah J. Maas, since this is giant and amazing for her?! Why make fancasts when, right at the glimpse of having that become a reality, just bash on it? This is such a toxic attitude!

But anyway, I should probably give out my two cents on this whole thing! In my opinion, I think an adaptation of this series would be a very difficult one. Without a good budget, I’m not sure they can pull it off visually. The cast doesn’t worry me because the characters aren’t that difficult to portrait. I’m just worried about the magic and the whole setting! I mean, how can they do a glass castle without the necessary resorts? And since they don’t have the guarantees of this show being a success, I don’t think they’ll put out the right amount of money to it, making the whole thing not go further from this point on. I’m concerned but I’m also hopeful to see how things progress! But hey, I might be wrong! And I hope I am because I would love a good adaptation of this series!

So, what do you think of this news? Yay or nay? Let me know!

Stay tuned for more bookish “reactions” in a near future! See you then,

Cat.

One thought on “Throne of Glass is being optioned for TV!

Leave a Reply

