ARC | Graphic Novel/Manga Review #23 – Jem and the Holograms: Showtime, by Kelly Thompson and Sophie Campbell

Hello guys!

Here’s my review for the most pleasant surprise in a while! It’s Jem and the Holograms: Showtime by Kelly Thompson and Sophie Campbell.

61MSoB487CL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_

Pre-order this title at Book Depository

I have to admit that I picked this book from NetGalley because the title reminded me enough of the crystal gems from Steven Universe. I know it had nothing to do with the show but that and the colourful cover sold me out! Later, while talking to my boyfriend about this, I was surprised to learn that this is inspired in an 80’s cartoon and a live-action movie is in the making! I’m super excited to see that last one.

Jem and the Holograms: Showtimes concentrates on a family band, while they compete in a sort of battle of the bands! The twist is that, one day, when the singer was too shy to sing in front of an audience, they find out that their late father built an AI capable of projecting an image surrounding her, capable of changing her appearance and make her 100% more confident!

The thing that instantly caught my attention was the art! It’s so colourful, and vibrant and actually perfect. I love how different the characters are from each other, even though you can totally see that they belong to that same world and, specially, to that particular social group. My favourite panels were the ones showing the performances, when you can see the bands and their songs meshing together.

I also loved the diversity of this set of characters. Even though the girls from the main band are all sisters, they’re from completely different races. The same can be said for everyone else. There’s also a good representation of different sexualities, personalities and mental health issues.

The only not-so-good point I have to addressed is the story. I don’t know the original show so I can’t compare the two. Anyway, it felt like some time was spent with some issues that didn’t really needed to be address, since they didn’t matter in the end, and then kind of forgot about the big stuff and let it for the next volume! I don’t understand what happened there!

In a nutshell, this book is outrageous and fun! It’s over the top in every sense of the way, and I wished there were real life bands with visuals like the ones in this book! I would probably spend more money in concerts that way! I mean, the most popular band of that world, The Misfits, have guitar shaped motorcycles! How cool/crazy is that?!

This book left me curious enough to continue reading the serie, if that will be possible! And I’ll definitely keep one eye open for the movie adaptation! Anyway, have you heard anything about Jem and the Holograms? Please let me know! I’m absolutely loving this collection of pure gems (ahah, pun) of graphic novels I’m discovering because of NetGalley! And I thought I could be more in love with this genre!!

Anyway, I hope to see you around! Have a great one.

Cat.

Leave a Reply

