Book Review #52 – I Am The Messenger, by Markus Zusak

Hello readers!

Today I bring you my review for a very beloved book. Here’s I Am The Messenger, by Markus Zusak.

Buy this book from Book Depository

_MG_3887

_MG_4083

My lovely friend Simone offered me this book a few months ago. Since then, I’ve read The Book Thief, by the same author, and really really loved it (you can read my review here). So, you can bet my expectations were pretty high for this one!

In this book, we follow the story of Ed, an underage taxi driver. After he stops a bank robbery, he starts to receive aces in the mail, containing information on which people he needs to deliver a message.

I have to say that I read this book and felt quite underwhelmed. I wasn’t expecting the turn this book took, the whole changing lives of others to give purpose to yours. But, in the other hand, I didn’t really know what to expect. I really liked this book in the beginning but, after a while, it gets really really repetitive, even in the writing. Every part is the same arc and sometimes even the same feelings. I wouldn’t call the book boring but it lost me a bit there.

Even if the story isn’t very diverse, a good set of characters can save it. And that’s what happens with this book. All the people in these pages are absolutely beautifully complex and interesting. But Ed, the main character, steals the show. I love the voice the author gave him. Actually, I think Zusak’s strong point is right there. He knows how to create these characters and give them an unbelievable personal voice,Β incredibly richΒ and fascinating. He knows how to hold on an audience.

Throughout the read of this book, I couldn’t help but going through the whole internal debates and struggles that Ed himself goes too. We’re basically the same age and I too feel like my life isn’t that relevant. So the message of this book felt really important to me. People, specially the young ones, must learn that some effort is needed to find some purpose in life. It’s hard, I know and Ed definitely knows it too but hell, what in life is easy? This is definitely a good coming of age novel!

Either way, I’m sure I would have enjoyed this book a lot more if it was my first Zusak book.Β The Book Thief is a superior book, in my opinion, and it sets the bar too high. So, in the future, to anyone that asks me about Zusak’s work, I think I’ll recommend the read of this book before the most popular one. Still, I Am The Messenger is brilliant and beautiful. Like everything I expect coming from that man. If he ever writes and publishes a book with his shopping list, I would probably read it either way. He’s such a fantastic writer, I think he could make even that work! I don’t say this about many other people but his writing is just absolutely breathtaking! I’ll keep my eye open for any upcoming novel of his!

Here’s my favourite quote:

My arms are killing me.
I didn’t know words could be so heavy.

I hope you liked this review! Have you read this book? What were your thoughts on it? Let me know please!

See you soon, with more reviews and other posts!

Cat.

6 thoughts on “Book Review #52 – I Am The Messenger, by Markus Zusak

Leave a Reply

