Book Review #53 – The Knife of Never Letting Go, by Patrick Ness

Hello readers!

I’m still a little stunned by this book but I think I still need to write something about it while it’s still fresh. Here’s my review for The Knife of Never Letting Go, by Patrick Ness.

Buy this book from Book Depository

_MG_2904

_MG_2912

I’ve heard so much about Patrick Ness! To me, he always appeared to be one of the most loved contemporary authors. After a while, I decided to finally buy one book of his. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to start his trilogy first or just read one of his stand alone but I put my fear of series aside and bought the first volume of it. Besides, this beautiful edition was available at some bookstores and not online so it was a no brainer.

In The Knife of Never Letting Go, we visit a planet were every men (and animal) can hear each others thoughts. That’s called Noise. One day, while in the swamp, the only young boy of that town, Todd, and his dog, Manchee, discover a void in the Noise and he understands for the first time what silence is. But that’s only the beginning of his troubles.

I don’t even know how to beginning talking about this book. Wow! Just wow. This book left me completely blown away. I haven’t read anything like this. It’s so original, what a refreshing read. But let’s talk about more specific things.

In the beginning, I could not stand Todd. He was so ignorant! I cannot deal with ignorance, not wanting to open your eyes and see the truth. And that was Todd. But I was so pleasantly surprise with his arc. It’s probably one of the best I’ve read. I love his development and his struggles. He’s a deeply flawed person, but that only makes him a more interesting characters. But let’s talk about my dear Manchee! He’s so cute! And what a good dog. The fact that we hear him speak (yes, animals have the ability to speak in this world) and his thoughts, gives us a completely deeper knowledge on him, something that doesn’t happen with other animal characters in other books.

I loved the mystery on this book. I loved how we learn and learn as the story progresses. It kept me interested in continuing the book but also in learning more about that messed up world. I read this book rapidly, even though life got a bit in the way. I don’t read series all back to back because I’m always afraid of getting sick of a character or of the story itself but I’ll definitely pick up the other books soon! I’m so curious to see what’s in store for these characters.

What blew me away the most, though, was the writing. It was so original and creative. Todd is our narrator and the way the story is written is exactly how he would write. Like, with words written exactly how they sound and full of grammatical errors. This is not completely new (Steinbeck does it all the time) but I always love when authors do this. It keeps me more concentrated on the read and I tend to enjoy the book a lot more. It’s hard to get used to in the beginning, but it’s totally worth it in my opinion.

Urgh I can’t even, I just loved everything about this book so much. The best reads are the ones that totally blow you away and that’s how I still feel about this. I’m so excited to read other of Ness’ work, I know see why he is so popular. I won A Monster Calls in a giveaway and I cannot wait to have it in my hands and hopefully be blown away too!

So, have you guys read any of this authors books? If so, what do you think of his work and which are your favourite books? I always love to get comments!

Here’s one of my favourite quotes:

“War is like a monster,” he says, almost to himself. “War is the devil. It starts and it consumes and it grows and grows and grows.” He’s looking at me now. “And otherwise normal men become monsters, too.”

See you soon,

Cat.

5 thoughts on “Book Review #53 – The Knife of Never Letting Go, by Patrick Ness

  1. I read the 1st chapter last night. And so far, I’m very confused, and I don’t like this boy who kicks his dog to make himself feel better. But I’m guessing things will change because I know that this series is very loved.

    Like

Leave a Reply

