Graphic Novel/Manga Review #24 – Wonder Woman Vol.1: Blood, by Brian Azzarello, Cliff Chiang and Tony Akins

Hello dear readers!

Here’s my review for Wonder Woman Vol.1: Blood, by Brian Azzarello, Cliff Chiang and Tony Akins.

81rwGvBAdvL

Buy this book from Book Depository

I’ve always liked Wonder Woman as a character. Throughout the years, I’ve saved several of screen shots and other images I could find online that proved that she is, in fact, the most badass female superhero. I use them as inspiration for some of my bad days, usually when I have to deal with misogyny or the patriarchal society in general. Even after all of this, I never actually read any of her comics. I did see the 2009 animated movie and I love that to death. Since Brian Azzarello is coming to Comic Con Portugal this December, I decided to obliterate my ignorance.

In this story, Diana helps out a woman who is impregnated by Zeus and has half of the Olympus after her.

The story begins with a big plot twist on Diana’s background, which I didn’t knew about. Besides that, it’s just set up for the other volumes, which makes it a bit forgettable. I did enjoy it still. Something doesn’t need to be great to be enjoyable. Diana has a great arc, but like the rest of the story, I can see how it will easily be more relevant with the progression of the story.

There’s a lot of Greek Mythology in this graphic novel, which I can’t really complain about. I love the artists take on the gods. They look really different from whatever classical statue you may see in a museum. I specially love Poseidon and Hades, a big fish and a kid with a lit candle as a head, receptively.

From the covers of the TPB, I expected the art to be a little different. It seems more peculiar, with really thick outlines, and I was expecting for the inside to be that same way. It’s a bit more common but it’s a good art style. I liked how Wonder Woman looked strong and beautiful at the same time, which she totally is.

Overall, this comic is pretty cool. Definitely enjoyable. Wonder Woman as a badass is confirmed, so I’ll read the next volumes. It seems to be the best way to get my fix on her so I’ll continue this quest, reading as much as I can until December comes. Hopefully I can met the writer!

Anyway, have you read this first volume of the New 52 run of Wonder Woman? What did you thought of it?

Have a good day and see you soon!

Cat.

Leave a Reply

