Book Review #55 – The Miseducation of Cameron Post, by Emily M. Darforth

Hey guys!

Here’s my review for the book The Miseducation of Cameron Post, by Emily M. Darforth.

_MG_3995

Buy this book from Book Depository

I was pretty damn excited to start this one! I never once had read a YA book with a lesbian main character. Since I’ve been wanting to read more diversely this year, I put this title on the top of my TBR.

This book tells the story of Cameron Post, a girl whose parents died in a car accident, while she was kissing another girl. After living with her aunt for a while, she is sent to a christian “healing” facility, where she is supposed to loose her sinful ways.

This book was really really interesting. Seeing the story from the perspective of Cameron is something fascinating. I loved her struggles to understand her sexuality and the consequences of it. It was also cool to see how the other people in her life reacted to Cameron being herself and how much of a prejudice it existed in the 90’s. I loved how obsessed with movies she is. I kind of took score of some of the movies she referenced and I hope to see them sometime!

I was expecting this book to be sad but with a hint of hope and playfulness. That’s exactly what you get. My heart was broken at several points throughout the book but others tried to mend it.

I found the writing absolutely beautiful. The only down point I have for this is how long it is. There’s a few things I would definitely exclude but still it would be a lengthy book. Cameron is a great character and her voice seems perfect to me. All characters were good, even though there’s a few I would very gladly punch in the face. Religious fanaticism is no good thing to me, I have no patience for it. I’m really thankful for the time and country I live in, where the LGBTQ community can have a more or less normal life. Things still are far from perfect but they’re definitely a bit better.

The ending of this books wasn’t quite what I expected. It’s a bit vague. I wanted to see more of the direction that Cameron would go after that point. There were so many questions left unanswered and other things not clarified. I can’t say I was totally satisfied with it and it left me kind of disappointed. That’s what didn’t quite work out for me in this book.

I definitely need to read more LGBTQ YA books. The one’s I’ve read recently have proven to be really good surprises. Do you have any particular book of this genre to recommend? I would love to hear about it! Also, have you read this one? What did you think of it?

Here’s my favourite quote:

But if renting all those movies had taught me anything more than how to lose myself in them, it was that you only actually have perfectly profound little moments like that in real life if you recognize them yourself, do all the fancy shot work and editing in your head, usually in the very seconds that whatever is happening is happening.

See you next time!

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Book Review #55 – The Miseducation of Cameron Post, by Emily M. Darforth

Leave a Reply

