Book Review #56 – Heir of Fire, by Sarah J. Maas

Hello guys!

Here’s my review for the third book on the Throne of Glass series, Heir Of Fire, by Sarah J. Maas.

Buy this book from Book Depository

_MG_4326

_MG_4327

Ah man, I’m in love with this world. I never thought I would fall in love with another fantasy series again. In the last few years I kinda lost contact with this genre but I’m so glad that I’m here again. Also, I still haven’t featured this book in any book haul, since I got it for my birthday (which was October 16th!). I just couldn’t wait and had to picked it up as soon as I could. Anyway, let’s get on with this review.

In this third instalment, Celaena Sardothien travels to the distant continent of Wendlyn, to know more about her true self and her powers.

I think this is my least favourite of the series so far. I’m not saying it’s bad, but there’s definitely a lot of things I would personally change. As the series progresses, these books tend to get lengthier. In Crown of Midnight, I totally get why. In this one, not so much. The story seems to drag for a bit. This is not as action packed as the other, as much as I was hoping for that. There’s a lot of siting around and training, from all the characters points of views.

And that’s another criticism I’ve seen for this book. There’s so many different point of views, and it’s a bit disconcerting at some points because you never really know if, after a cliff hanger, you’re going to read more about that or spend another 20/30 pages with any other plot line. It’s not like that bothered me that much, because I like multiple POVs but it did annoy me from time to time.

There were also a lot of new characters introduced. Like A LOT. I’m on the minority and I have to say that Manon Blackbeak, the most ruthless of witches, is my new love. I love her whole dark but not so dark vibe. I don’t know how people think her plot was boring. I absolutely loved it! I love all the covens and their differences and characteristics. On the other hand, I’m not sure about Rowan, a Fae warrior that is assigned to train Celaena. I’m not sure if I’ll call him abusive but he is definitely very aggressive and kinda rude. He does get better with the progression of the story, although I’m still not sure how I feel about him. Anyway, am I the only one who finds it weird when there’s romantic/sexual tension between a 200 year old imortal creature and a 19 year old mortal girl? It’s creepy as hell! On the other hand, Chaol is still a babe and I have to admit I kinda liked Dorian! That was new.

The story, in general, wasn’t my favourite. I felt like nothing really happened, and what it did happen, will only have its true consequences shown in the next book, most likely. That kind of sucked. But there were some real cool and some other promising stuff that I cannot wait to learn more about! Speaking of learning, Celaena turns out to be more and more interesting and complex as the story goes along and I cannot wait to see her future from now on, since most of her past is almost all clear at the moment.

Ah guys, but with all said, I really cannot wait to read more of this series. I also got The Assassin’s Blade, the book collecting some of short stories/novellas that work out as prequels to this main series, on my birthday. I will read that soon and hopefully I’ll be able to buy Queen of Shadows before the end of the year so I can call 2015 my Throne of Glass year. I’m just so excited to see how all these twists and turns will turn out to be. I can feel the tension building up until the final climax and I cannot wait to know what’s in store for Celaena and the whole gang!

Well, here’s my favourite quote:

It would not take a monster to destroy a monster – but light, light to drive out darkness.

Have you read this? Please let me know all your thoughts about it!

Until next time,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

