Halloween Special – Spooky films based on books

Hello guys!

If you’re like me and don’t have any particular plan for Halloween night, you might as well watch a spooky movie, just to feel more seasonal! So, here’s a couple of recommendations, all based on book to movie adaptations.
halloween

  • The Shining (1980)

saul-bass-the-shining-film-poster-1

The Shining is actually my favourite movie of all time. Every time I see it, I notice something different and my love for it grows and grows. It still blows my mind, every single time. It’s inspired in the book of the same name, by Stephen King. Both are very different but amazing nevertheless.

Jack Torrance accepts a job to take care of an hotel while it’s closed for Winter. With him, goes his wife and son. While Jack looses his mind, his son, who has an hypersensitive mind, discovers the mysteries and weird things that live in the hotel.

  • Dracula (1931)

dracula-1931-starring-bela-lugosi-us-1947-re-release-poster

Dracula is one of the most iconic characters ever so there’s plenty of movies that tell one side of the story or another. The 1931 movie is one of my favourites, Nosferatu being my ultimate one. Since that’s not clearly a Dracula adaptation and not that scary if we compare it to more recent horror movies, I decided not to include it. Plus, Bela Legosi is the most perfect Dracula and scary as hell so this is definitely the best pick. Just don’t watch the Francis Ford Coppola’s because that movie is terrible, it’s just sex and nonsense until exhaustion. This movie (from 1931) is inspired by Bram Stoker’s book.

Jonathan Harker is hired by Count Dracula, of Transylvania, to look for and buy him a house in London. When Harker arrives in that foreign country, he is taken prisoner and starts seeing and witnessing weird events and creatures.

  • Carrie (1976)

Carrie-1976-Movie-Poster

I only saw this a couple of years ago and I kinda of crapped myself so I can only imagine how people experienced this in the 70’s… It’s so bloody and the soundtrack rises the creepiness levels through the roof. This is definitely one of the most game changing horror movies of all time. It’s inspired by Stephen King’s book of the same name.

Carrie has always been living in a weird religious bubble created by her crazy mother. When she gets her first period, the experience is so traumatic it triggers in her telekinetic powers. So, when she gets seriously angry, things end up bad. Real bad.

  • Frankestein (1931)

Poster-frankenstein-19751765-1315-2069

Boris Karloff is one of the best actors that ever lived, period. And his talent is more than visible in this movie. It’s a terrific adaptation from the Mary Shelley’s book (one of my all time favourites). This movie is so scary and beautifully sad, just like the book. Still in the Karloff movies, you should totally see The Mummy while you’re at it! It’s his best performance. I’m kind of obsessed by his work.

Dr. Frankenstein discovers the key to bring someone back to live. When he does, he doesn’t seem that satisfied with his creation, turning it into a monster decided to kill his maker.

  • The Exorcist (1973)

vAFeNGJ

This is the only movie on this list that I haven’t seen. Although I think we were all scared by those stupid jump scares in online games right? I was really surprised to learn that it is an adaption from a book of the same title, by William Peter Blatty.

The movie tells the story of a twelve year-old girl that is possessed by a demon and of a priest who tries to exorcise her. There’s so many creepy stories behind it, they could be a movie all by themselves.

  • Rosemary’s Baby (1968)

rosemarys-baby-poster

I’ve only seen this one a week ago and I was so pleasantly surprised by it! It has such an unsettling atmosphere all through the film, you almost feel sick yourself. I also didn’t know this was an adaption, from a book by Ira Levin.

An ordinary couple settles in a new apartment, in New York City, and decide to have a baby. Although, they don’t know their neighbours have a sick interest in them and, specially, the still to be born child.

  • Interview with the Vampire (1994)

interview_with_the_vampire_xlg

Anne Rice, the author of the original book, is a modern queen of gothic fiction! I remember seeing this movie and being totally mesmerised by Cruise and Pitt’s performance. I haven’t watched it in a long long time and I definitely should because I think I might love it even more!

This movie’s narrative follows the life of a vampire and his life acts with another creature of the night, while told to a journalist during an interview.

As you might have noticed, I don’t really like contemporary horror movies. The cheap jump scares do nothing for me other than give me terrible anxiety. I love a good piece of cinema that happens to give me chills or make me look behind my back to certify I’m alone. There’s a lot of other movies I could recommend but I think these are really good choices! Maybe I’ll do another post like this next year!

Let me know if you’ve seen this movies or read the books! I also hoped you enjoyed Halloween week!

See you next time,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

