October Book Haul

Hello guys!

Here’s my October Book Haul, containing books I got in giveaways and others I got as birthday presents!

_MG_4403

These two were birthday gifs, one from my lovely friend Polly, from pollyandbooks on Tumblr, and my boyfriend. I already reviewed Heir of Fire (link above) and I cannot wait to pick up The Assassin’s Blade, which is a collection of novellas that tell a bit more about Celaena Sardothien before the events of Throne of Glass.

This book, and the next two were won in an awesome giveaway! I had a chance to pick three books from a selection and these were the ones I decided to go with! I’ve read Matilda only a while ago and I fell completely in love with it! The movie is amazing too!

Matilda is a very special little girl, with a brilliant mind and a great love for books. Unfortunately, her family doesn’t understand her but everything in her life changes when a wonderful teacher shows up.

I’m a big LOTR fan! Two years ago I asked my friend to lend this book to me and wow! It has everything that I loved about LOTR and even more! I’m so excited to have my own copy now! Also, this edition is so beautiful, I will show it better in another post.

The Hobbit tells the story of a little creature, a group of dwarves and a wizard, that go on a huge adventure.

I cannot believe I finally have this book!! Specially since the first copy of this book (and Matilda) got lost in the mail. So after a million days waiting to get a change to purchase this and another dozen to wait for the second copy to arrive, it truly felt like forever until it landed in my hands! It’s so much thicker than I expected!! I’m reading it as soon as I finish what I’m reading now!

I really don’t want to know a lot about this so I’m not reading any synopsis. But I’ll leave the Goodreads link here.

Ok, story time. The other day, I was really not feeling like doing any schoolwork so when a telemarketer operator called the house phone and asked if I wanted to answer some questions, I was like “hell yeah!”. In the end, they also asked if I could answer other questions online and get a 10€ gift card! The “hell yeah” was bigger this time. So I did the giant ass questionnaire and got 10€ to spend in the bookstore! When I got there, I also had 10% off, so I got this book for 35 cents! I almost died of happiness! I wasn’t planing on getting a birthday present from myself to myself this year but this ended up being it.

Anyway, in this book we follow Jacob as he finds the ruins of this home and the true peculiarities of the children that used to live there.

I’ve mentioned this book a lot and I’ve been wanting it since forever, it almost seems! I won this too at a giveaway and I’m so so glad to have it with me!

Every night, at midnight, Conor is visited by a monster although it isn’t what he is expecting…

This last book was offered to me by my lovely friend Simone. I’ve been swooning over this for a long time, since I loved Stevenson’s work on Fangirl, by Rainbow Rowell, and been following her doodles online.

Nimona is a compilation of the author’s web comic, with a quirky shapeshifting girl as a protagonist. Again, I don’t really want to know more about it but here’s the Goodreads page.

Well, these were all the books I got in October! It was definitely a good month! I still have some birthday presents coming in the mail so this isn’t my full birthday haul! I’m really happy with the generosity of my friends, there’s really some great people in the world. If you’ve read any of these, let me know please!

Also, I’ve been thinking of not showing close-ups of each book from a haul, since it makes the posts long as hell. Do you think the post looks better this way or with more photos? I want your opinions!

See you soon!

Cat.

4 thoughts on “October Book Haul

  1. Oh my god Cat I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Ready Player One! It’s definitely one of my favorite books of all time. Well I guess it’s a lot of people’s favorite. I hope you love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

