Graphic Novel/Manga Review #28 – Nimona, by Noelle Stevenson

Hey guys!

I’m still kinda stunned by how freaking amazing this book is but let us try to write something about it! Here’s my review for Nimona, by Noelle Stevenson.

_MG_4476

Buy this book from Book Depository

I’ve first noticed Stevenson work while reading Fangirl and seeing her little illustrations in the cover and bonus content. Later did I realise that I’ve seen her work online before! I love how she draws characters, they’re so simple yet have so much live. Her work is always hilarious. So, I was pretty excited to read her book!

Nimona started as a web-comic. From time to time, Stevenson posted each chapter online. The comic became of such popularity, they decided to publish it in paper! The book follows the story of Nimona, a shapeshifting girl who becomes the side-kick of infamous villain, Lord Ballister Blackheart. Their mission is to take down Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics.

Oh my, this book is so good! I mean, I had pretty high hopes for this one since my friends all love it and because of the immense hype by the overall internet. Still, this did not let me down one bit. Quite the contrary, it even blew me away.

_MG_4479

This book is made by so many and so different tones. It’s hilarious and tragic. Heart warming and heart breaking. I felt tears of laughter and sadness. It was a rollercoaster of emotions but so many good ones. Stevenson has a special talent to give life to characters. They feel awfully real, even in that world of fantasy and magic. They’re so complex, both mentally and physically. I loved Ballister Blackheart. He has like a million sides and levels. I love his little robotic arm and his kind heart.

All the character design is flawless. They’re are very very different. Some even have a really ambiguous aspect, which go against all the gender normalities we’re used to. It’s amazing. And there’s also different sexualities! A lot of representation is going on here and I love it!!! I mean, the whole art is amazing. That includes character design, backgrounds, creatures, everything.

_MG_4488

I can’t believe that Noelle Stevenson actually did everything in this book herself. It’s so hard to write AND draw at the same time. And it must be eve harder to excel at both these things.

To be perfectly honest, I don’t have anything bad to say about this book. It’s by far one of my favourite books ever. I want to read it over and over again. And hug it! I wished I could just hug all the characters here, they definitely deserve it.

The only thing I can do is just recommend, vividly, this book to everyone. You’re not going to regret it, I promise.

Have you read this book? Please let me know what were your favourite/least favourite things about it!!

See you next time,

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Graphic Novel/Manga Review #28 – Nimona, by Noelle Stevenson

Leave a Reply

