Book Review #59 – In Cold Blood, by Truman Capote

Hello guys!

Here’s my review for a modern classic! It’s In Cold Blood (pt. A Sangue Frio), by Truman Capote.

_MG_4473

Buy this book from Book Depository

After reading so many YA and fantasy books, I decided it was time to pick up something different. I looked at my shelves and chose this new classic. Since I’ve been so obsessed with documentaries in this last few months, I thought I should invest in a read of that kind.

Truman Capote was an illustrious american writer and bff of Harper Lee. His book, In Cold Blood, revolutionised literary history: it is considered the first non-fiction novel, where real life events are describedย as if they were fiction. Another one of his novellas, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, movie adaptations brought immortality to the main actress, Audrey Hepburn.

In this story, we follow the investigation of a terrible murder case, taking the life of all 4 members ofย small town family in Kansas, USA. After reading about this case in the newspaper, Capote decided to travel to the town and interview everyone involved, until the execution of the murderers (ups, spoiler alert). What he wrote was first published in the New Yorker and only in book format after the amazing success of the magazine articles. There’s also a movie depicting this time of the writer’s life called Capote, with the late Philip Seymour Hoffman in the lead. It’s an amazing movie!

If there’s something I do appreciate in documentaries is impartiality. I want to be presented with the real facts and be left alone to make my own opinions and evaluation of the problem, in whichever way I please. That’s what you can find here. A complete description of every single moment in this events, told as they happened and not twisted to favour one side or another.

But that doesn’t mean this book hasn’t got a particular voice, like many non-fiction books. I specially loved how thecharacters’ feelings and opinions are described. They were really particular to each and everyone of them! Capote clearly was a man of talent because, even though the story isn’t really fast paced or full of twists and turns, the read is still pleasant and fascinating. Of course some parts are more dull than others, which made me struggle a bit. I’m still pretty hooked to YA adrenaline, I guess.

One thing that really confused me were all the characters. Everyone even mildly involved in the murder and its investigation seems to have some page time. It makes it hard to picture everyone because you either forget their descriptions or don’t get them at all. I’m one of those readers that likes to picture the whole book in their heads.

Unfortunately, this edition had a lot of typing errors, which sucked hard. Some words had typos and it was a pain because it breaks your reading rhythm! But hey, it’s a really old edition and it was 1,50โ‚ฌ so I can’t complain that much

With everything in mind, his was a pretty good change of pace, reading wise. Another modern classic to cross of my infinite list! Tell me what you thought of this book, in case you’ve read it yet!

Here’s one of the many beautiful quotes that can be found in this book:

As long as you live, there’s always something waiting; and even if it’s bad, and you know it’s bad, what can you do? You can’t stop living.

See you next time!

Cat.

4 thoughts on “Book Review #59 – In Cold Blood, by Truman Capote

  1. I had to read this for university way back in the day (my 2nd year I think), but for some reason, I didn’t finish (maybe the fact that I dropped out of that degree played a role in it). I read about 1/4 of it I think, and I remember being quite creeped out by it. It was interesting, and I’ve had the idea of picking it up again in the back of my head, but it’s just not on my priority list at the moment. I did see the movies Capote (2005) and Infamous (2006) though.

    Like

    • I can definitely see why people may struggle with this book! it’s not easy but I found it really interesting and fascinating. I think you definitely should give it a second chance! I haven’t seen Infamous but I should get to that!! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

