Five books I’m thankful for

Hey guys!

Today is Thanksgiving and, even thought we don’t celebrate it here, I saw a few people doing this tag like thingy and I thought it would be fun to participate too! So, here’s five books I’m thankful for!

bannerthanksgiving

9789896530105

  • Death With Interruptions (in some translations, Death With Intervals; pt: As Intermitências da Morte), by José Saramago

This is my favourite book of all time. I cannot speak of it enough times. Everyone needs and should read this. It made me feel in love with reading even more. I want to hug this book all days of my life.

It starts when Death decides to stop taking more lives.

ScottPilgrim

  • Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life, by Bryan Lee O’Malley

This was the first graphic novel I’ve ever read. It opened the doors to one of my favourite genres ever. It’s amazing, funny and so geeky! It’s a perfect book.

In this series we follow Scott Pilgrim as he battles the seven evil exes of his new girlfriend, Ramona Flowers.

eragon-cover

  • Eragon, by Christopher Paolini

Eragon was the first big fantasy book I read. It moulded my taste and it introduced me to my most read genre. So many different and amazing worlds to discover!

This boy, Eragon, lives in a dark, dark world. His life changes one day, when he finds a dragon egg!

Dragon-tattoo-cover

  • The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg Larson

Ah, the book that introduced me to the fact that women are marginalised and something needs to be done about that. My feminist side started with this and it definitely turned into something that defined me as a person.

This is the first book in a series following the amazing character that is Lisbeth Salander, a gifted hacker, and Mikael Blomkvist, a journalist dedicated to investigating and exposing irregularities mainly in the banking/business world.

01- copy

  • Oyasumi Punpun, by Inio Asano

I don’t usually read manga and I honestly don’t remember when I came across this books but goddammit, I’m so thankful I read this. It’s such a heartbreaking series, with many important lessons. I read it at the perfect time in my life and there’s not that many books I hold dear as this one.

Punpun is a kid that’s represented as a bird. This series follows his process of growing up, dealing with many things like domestic violence, death, anger and first love.

As you might have guess, I love all this books and strongly recommend them. They’re some of my favourites of all time.

Choosing just five books was really hard! I’m thankful for so many books, for different reasons! If you had to choose five books, which would you choose?

See you soon!

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Five books I’m thankful for

Leave a Reply

