Book Review #60 – Ready Player One, by Ernest Cline

Hey guys!

I’m sorry for the absence but school was crazy these past weeks! But I think I’m partially back so get ready for more posts πŸ˜€

Anyway, today’s review is of a read I’ve been really excited for! It’s Ready Player One, by Ernest Cline.

Buy it from Book Depository

_MG_4535

_MG_4533

Ok, so the hype surrounding this book is off the hook. It’s in so many best books of 2014 lists! All my bookish friends love it. So I was so so excited to read it. And my hopes were really high.

In 2044, the world is no good place. Most people don’t live houses even, there’s no oil, the weather is terrible and everyone spends most of their time in a virtual reality universe called OASIS. When the creator of that game dies, he leaves all his fortune to the first person whoΒ completes a number of tasks to find the easter egg he has hidden. Our protagonist, Wade, is the first to complete the first clue!

In the first three pages of the books, the author mentions one of my favourite movies (The Heathers) and one of my favourite directors (John Hughes). My thoughts were “I really am going to love this book”. But after a hundredΒ pages of constant name dropping, that became really annoying. Ok I get it Wade, you spent a lot of time studying everything the creator of OASIS liked, specially things from the 80’s. It mostly felt like bragging, rather than homage, which I feel was the original idea. But when they didn’t annoy me, I couldn’t help but chuckle at seeing some of the references, like Holy Grail by Monty Python.

Regarding the story itself and the characters, I don’t think I had any major problems. The twists and turns weren’t really unpredictable but they were entertaining nevertheless. I didn’t particularly like Wade, I just couldn’t really relate with his struggles and goals. But I did enjoy Art3mis, one of his opponents through the whole journey of winning that crazy game. She was so complex and interesting, definitely the highlight of this book for me.

Although I can’t really pinpoint anything that bad in this book, I felt oddly underwhelmed. Maybe I had too much high hopes for it but it fell flat. It didn’tΒ blew my mind, as I was expecting. Going in a book (or any art form for that matter) with hight hopes is a real risk. I try as much as I can not to be influenced by others and the general hype but it’s quite impossible. And I guess that was my biggest mistake regarding this book.

But I did enjoy it. Quite a lot. I laughed really hard at parts and I couldn’t help but read it with a permanent smile on my face. And it definitely introduced me to a lot of movies I should see and music to hear! There were also a lot of games I would love to play but me and retro consoles don’t get along that well (the controls drive me crazy, I’m too used to the most recent ones!).

So yeah, this was pretty good but kind of underwhelming. I do recommend but go into it with a clean head, no influences distorting your judgement!

Here’s my favourite quote:

Going outside is highly overrated.

Have you guys read this? What are your thoughts on it? Let me know!

I have a lot of reviews to write so be aware!

See you soon,

Cat.

5 thoughts on “Book Review #60 – Ready Player One, by Ernest Cline

  1. I hate to say I told you so (not really). It’s really so good and I 100% understand your criticism here. I fully get why people have a hard time with this, it’s really a little braggy and weird how ~into~ 80s pop culture the MC is. It does work for the book though, I think, and it didn’t bother me at all personally. I was just in awe with all that great world building. Art3mis was my favorite as well!

    Like

    • I know to trust your opinions :* I want to visit that world for one hand and I don’t at all in the other? it seems like such a crazy place! but after the events of the book it would probably be a+ to live in!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

