Book Review #62 – The Assassin’s Blade, by Sarah J. Maas

Hey guys!

It is time for another Throne of Glass review. Today I’ll talk about the collection of novellas called The Assassin’s Blade, by Sarah J. Maas.

Buy this from Book Depository

_MG_4668

_MG_4671

Between the release of Heir of Fire and Queen of Shadows, Maas decided to publish her novellas regarding some events in the life of Celaena Sardothien, before her life right at the beginning of Throne of Glass. The book contains five stories: The Assassin and the Pirate Lord, The Assassin and the Healer, The Assassin and the Desert, The Assassin and the Underworld and The Assassin and the Empire.

I’m not going to lie, during the first two stories, I wanted to freaking punch Celaena in the face. She was so obnoxious and full of herself. Her atitude was almost unbearable and I had to take deep breaths and remind myself that this was just a character in a book. The good thing is that she gets a whole lot better as the novellas progress. She gains so much more humanity and humility. I mean, she becomes the Celaena I know and love. I definitely wouldn’t look up to her as much as I do if she didn’t evolve so much as a person.

I know a lot of people have several problems with the stories, specially the first one, but I can’t say that I felt the same. I guess I was just really glad to be back in that world. My favourite story was the one where Celaena teaches self defence to a healer, mainly because of the whole feminist message behind it. All of the stories are mentioned in the other books, so it’s nice to get a whole view of the event. I also really liked The Assassin and the Desert, since it envolves some awesome fights, which I’m always keen about.

But what killed me was the last paragraphs of this book, where we read about the night that changed everything in Celaena’s existence at that point. It was as brutal and heartbreaking as I was expecting it. I really felt for her, the poor thing. I wished I could hug her. She’s been through so much and it kind of sucks that she is now basically a monster because of what life made her experience.

The writing is still very nice, specially in the passes where Celaena completely loses her shit. Those are always my favourite, regardless of the character’s pain (which kinda makes me guilty for enjoying said scenes). I love how Maas can write such a normal girl in one page, and a ruthless person in another one. It’s hard to believe they’re actually the same.

I read this book before going into Queen of Shadows, since everyone says it is essential to get a better insight on some events of the most recent book. I’m not sure on what extent that is real since I only started QoS a few days ago.

But I am happy to finally read this book. And own it, since the cover is the most gorgeous thing in the universe. Have you guys read this books? What do you thought of it? I want to know!

Here’s my favourite quote:

This girl wasn’t like wildfire – she was wildfire . Deadly and uncontrollable. And slightly out of her wits.

See you guys soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

